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ECF INFORMER

Please use the navigation below or view this edition of the ECF Infor mer in PDF format [1]

Debtor Electronic Noticing

The Bankruptcy Court for the District of Utah is pleased to announce “Debtor Electronic Bankruptcy Noticing (DeBN).”
This is a FREE and voluntary service that allows debtors to request delivery of court notices and orders from the
bankruptcy court, through the BNC (Bankruptcy Noticing Center), via email instead of U.S. mail.

NOTE: Only notices and orders authorized to be sent by the BNC are sent to the debtor through the DeBN
program (i.e. First Meeting of Creditors Notice, Order of Discharge, Orders entered by the Court). Debtors do
NOT receive CM/ECF email similar to attorneys. All other parties, such as trustees and creditors, will continue
to serve the debtor via U.S. mail or in person as required by court rules.

DeBN offers the following advantages for debtors:

¢ Faster—Notices are received the same day they are filed by the court.

e Convenient—Access to notices anywhere the Internet is available.

¢ No more lost paperwork—Storing notices on a computer or electronic device means never losing a paper copy.
¢ Less paper clutter—Helps the environment and reduces paper clutter around the house.

It's FREE

Pursuant to Federal Rule of Bankruptcy Procedure 9036, a party may make a written request for delivery of notices via
email, instead of U.S. mail. Through the DeBN program, only notices and orders that have been filed by the court can
be emailed to the debtor. Debtors requesting participation in the DeBN program must complete and file a Debtor’s
Electronic Noticing Request (DeBN) form [2] with the court where their case is filed.

For more information or questions, contact the Bankruptcy Court’s training department at 801-524-6575
or utb_training@utb.uscourts.gov [3]
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Application for Individuals to Pay Filing Fee In Installments

When filing a new Chapter 7 or Chapter 13 bankruptcy case, the debtor may apply to pay the Voluntary Petition filing
fee in installments. For this application to be considered, the appropriate box must be checked on the Voluntary
Petition, “Installment” must be selected as the "Fee Status", the initial payment amount must $100 or more, and an
"Application for Individuals to Pay the Filing Fee in Installments" must be filed:

NOTE: The Court will either approve or deny the application with an order. An order approving the application
may alter payment amounts and/or due dates. Please adhere to the terms established in the order, NOT the
application.

¢ Voluntary Petition

On page 1 of the Voluntary Petition, within the "Filing Fee (Check one box)" area, "Filing Fee to be paid in installments
(applicable to individuals only )" MUST be checked

e CM/ECF—Fee Status

The "Fee Status" must be changed from "Paid" to "Installments”

— — = Lo ks

/ &[® District of Utah - Train D2 x § J— R —

<« C' 8 https://ecf-train.utb.uscourts.gov/cgi-bin/Dispatch.pl?35280693219614

EE c F Bankruptcy ~ Adversary~ Query = I

CM/ECF Help Desk 801-450-3443 (8am to 4:30pm Mon - Fri) ';‘Bi”frﬁ’g 3
Court Website Local Rules Email =t

Open Voluntary Bankruptcy Case

It appears that this debtor filed cases 13-20071. 13-20070. 13-20065

Prior filing within last 8 years yes v Type of debtor
Fee status | Paid v | ® Individual
. ) Corporation (includes LLC & LLP)
Nature of debt Paid Partnership
Asset notice | |FP filing fee waived | Other
Estimated number of creditors v Nature of business
Estimated assets = Health Care Business
Single Asset Real Estate
Estimated liabilities v Railroad
Stockbroker
Commeodity Broker
Clearing Bank
Other

Tax-Exempt Entity

Next Clear

e CM/ECF—Fee

Page 2 of 7



ECF Informer - August 2015
Published on District of Utah (https://www.utb.uscourts.gov)

A payment of $100.00 or more must be paid at the time of filing OR within 14 days. The payment amount
should be adjusted to reflect the amount to be paid at the time of filing. Insert 0.00 if the initial payment will not be
made at the time of filing but within 14 days.

Ppen Voluntary Bankruptcy Case

FOR PETITIONS REQUESTING THE FEE BE PAID IN INSTALLMENTS, A PAYMENT OF 100.00 OR MORE MUST BE PAID
AT THE TIME OF FILING OR WITHIN 14 DAYS. INSERT PAYMENT AMOUNT, IF ANY, BELOW.

for Foluntary Petition (Chaprer 7) (FEE)
\f Payment amount should be

Filename adjusted to reflect the amount to

Choose File | No file chosen be paid at the time of filing

Insert 0.00 if the payment is to
be made within 14 days

Fee: 335

A ttachments to Document: ® No Yes

Next Clear

Amended Schedules re: Conversion from 13 to 7 (Rule 1019)

When converting a case from Chapter 13 to Chapter 7, it may be necessary to add post-petition creditors to the
schedules and creditor matrix. This amendment to the schedules and matrix is available at no charge IF the correct
CM/ECF event is used. “Schedules Re: Conversion from 13 to 7 (Rule 1019)” event is available in CM/ECF in the
“Debtor Events” category. This event permits the filing users to amend the schedules to add new post-petition
creditors based on the conversion at no charge. The pleading should be filed within fourteen (14) days of the
conversion date.

CM/ECF Email Notifications

CM/ECF Attorney Filing Users receive email notification of items filed in cases that they have entered an appearance
or represent the debtor. Filing Users have the option to receive 1 daily summary email listing items filed in all of their
cases OR they can opt to receive instantaneous notice when action occurs in their case(s). A hyperlink to the
document filed and a hyperlink the case docket is contained within these emails. Filing Users may click the document
number hyperlink and receive a “free look” at the document filed. They may print or save the document, however,
filing users will be prompted to pay a PACER (Public Access to Electronic Court Records) fee of .10 cents a page for
any subsequent viewings of the same document. This “free look” is only for the first time the document is viewed
AND is only available for 14 days after receipt of the email. After 14 days the document remains available, however,
filing users will incur a PACER charge to view the document.
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Activity has occurred in the following cases:

11-32718 (Ch 13) (EOD: 2015-08-05 22:53:59) Jesse Tavlor and Shannon Tavlop~
Certificate of Service Re: Miscellaneous Pleadings 98.

Click here for a one time
free look within 14 days of

Docket Text: receipt of the email

Certificate of Service Re: Miscellaneous Pleadings Notice Date 08/05/2015. (Admin )

Contact the Court's Training Department for Help

Ever had the experience of having to file something, and cannot decide on what event to use? The Clerk's office has
spent many hours developing the CM/ECF "dictionary", but admittedly there are documents that may simply not "fit". If
this occurs, feel free to contact the Court's Training department (801-524-6575 or email at utb_training@uscourts.gov
[4]) to discuss your unique pleading. Not only does this hopefully help the efiler, but it also points out to the Training
department that a new event may need to be created(?).

Selecting a Hearing Date

When filing a Notice of Hearing OR a Notice and Opportunity for hearing, filing users must select a hearing date from a
pick list. The pick list contains hearing dates from the “Chambers Preset” report and hearings that have been set by
the scheduling clerk. Filing users should NOT attempt to enter anything in the “Hearing Date:”, “Hearing Time:”, or
“Location” fields. After a hearing date has been selected, these fields will automatically populate with the correct
information. If the desired hearing date is not in the pick list, the filing user may review available preset hearing dates
by clicking “Chambers Presets” OR contact the court scheduling clerk at 801-524-6627.

Hearing Information

In order to enter a hearing date/time/location, vou must obtain prior approval from the presiding judge.
Contact the Chambers of Judge Mosier.

|'F‘Iease select from the following hearings ¥ | Chamber Presets
Hearing Date: | i8] Hearing Time: &)

Select a hearing date and
time by clicking here. The
"Hearing Date", "Hearing
Time", and "Location" fields
will automatically populate

Location: v

Select docket entries which are te be associated with the above schedule(s).
Filing Date # Docket Text

07/20/2015  Notice of Endorsement(related document(s):31 Debtor's Motion to Continue Confirmation for 60 days. (Tripp. 1.)).

Endorsed with no objection Filed by Darwin H. Bingham on behalf of Mountain Amenca Federal Credit Union
millﬂll‘!l]1 n’lnl'iﬂ‘
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Local Rule 9021-1 Preparation and Submission of Judgment or Order

Local Rule 9021-1 gives guidance for preparation and submission of proposed orders:

1. L.R. 2091-1(a) states that proposed orders are to be submitted as separate documents, not included with or made
part of motions.

2. L.R. 2091-1(b) states that unless ordered otherwise, orders should be submitted by the prevailing party and
objections to the order must be filed with 7 days from the date the proposed order is filed.

3. L.R. 2091-1(c) requires orders to be submitted in “...such form as the court requires”. The court requires a 2 and
1/2 inch margin on the top of the first page of the order.

4. L.R. 2091-1(e) instructs parties filing a proposed order shall attach a “Designation of Parties to be Served.” The
designation must be in conformity with Local Bankruptcy Form 9021-1. This designation instructs the Bankruptcy Court
Clerk’s Office of those who should receive a signed copy of the order.

NOTE: When filing a proposed order for a bankruptcy case, filing users should use the “Pending Order Upload”
category under the “Bankruptcy” menu. When filing a proposed order for an adversary case, filing users should use
the “Pending Order Upload” category under the “Adversary” menu.

Methods to Fix an E-filing Mistake

From time to time an efiler makes an error such as attaching the incorrect image to an entry, or using an incorrect
event when docketing something in a case. These errors are (hopefully) captured during the Clerk's office's Quality
Control procedure, and the efiler is usually notified of whatever issue has been discovered.

There are various methods to "right the wrong", but withdrawing the pleading may not necessarily be the optimal
correction. You must be aware of withdrawing pleadings, especially if they happen to be time-sensitive. If you withdraw
and refile the following day, you may have(?) created a situation where your time-sensitive pleading can be considered
"late".

Withdrawing a pleading when the error is in the event that was used is unnecessary. The QC clerk can always adjust
the entry, and oftentimes does, to match the image/pleading that was submitted. If the error is in the pleading/image
file, then withdrawing may be appropriate. Do not hesitate to contact the Clerk's office concerning errors while
docketing. Solutions to the error(s) may be less confusing than to simply withdraw the pleading. Also recall that the
Clerk's office has an online chat service on our website [5] and within CM/ECF where you can communicate with a
deputy clerk instantaneously.
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Chapter 13 - One Debtor Converts, the Other Dismisses

In a joint Chapter 13 case, there may be an occasion to bifurcate the two debtors for various reasons. Recall that a
bifurcation fee is necessary when two estates are created by virtue of the bifurcation. That being said, in the case of
one debtor converting and the other dismissing, please also recall that you can save your client a bifurcation fee if one
of the debtors is dismissed BEFORE the conversion. Once one of the debtors is dismissed, you can then convert the
remaining debtor, and only a conversion fee is due, but NOT the bifurcation fee. A new case number is also not
necessary.

Use "Attachments to Document"” Only If Necessary

The maximum file size for documents filed with the court through CM/ECF is 8MB. If the document to be uploaded
exceeds 8MB, the document must be divided into 8MB sections or smaller to be submitted. When prompted to upload
PDF documentation, filing users should use “Attachments to Document” ONLY if the document they are attempting to
upload exceeds 8MB., otherwise, all documentation should be combined into 1 PDF document.

CM/ECF Filing Agents

Some trustees and attorneys require multiple paralegals/staff members to docket simultaneously in order to complete
necessary filings. Previously, there was no way to link multiple accounts to the same trustee or attorney. As a result
the court had to create separate (X) accounts to allow staff to file on behalf of the trustee/attorney.

Now, a new user type is available called ‘Filing Agent’. A trustee or attorney may link several ‘Filing Agents’ to their
user account so that when the agent files on behalf of the trustee/attorney, the docket text shows the
trustee’s/attorney’s name as the filer.

Filing Agents -

- Can docket on behalf of the trustee/attorney

- Will not appear on the pick list for docketing (only the trustee or attorney name will show)

- Name will not show on the docket text. (the trustee or attorney name will show as the filer)

- Assume the rights and privileges assigned to the trustee or attorney’s user account

- Will not receive email on their own. The Filing Agent’s email address must be designated through the trustee or
attorney’s account in Maintain Your ECF Account: ‘Secondary Email Address’ and by checking ‘Send the notices to

the secondary addresses’

- Can docket restricted (SSN Verification Page, Writs) and sealed documents but cannot view them after docketing
(the attorney/trustee main account must be used)
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Contact the Bankruptcy Court’s training department at 801-524-6575 or email them at utb_training@utb.uscourts.gov
[3] for instructions on how to set up filing agents.
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