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UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF UTAH

STANDING ORDER NUMBER 2

This Standing Order Number 2 is issued by the United States Bankruptcy Court for

the District of Utah pursuant to Local Rule 1001-2.  It is effective for all cases filed on or

after the effective date of the Bankruptcy Abuse Prevention and Consumer Protection Act

of 2005. 

Dated this 20th day of September, 2005.

   /s/ Glen E. Clark                                    
 Glen E. Clark
 Chief Judge, United States Bankruptcy Court
 for the District of Utah

   /s/ Judith A. Boulden                                    
 Judith A. Boulden
 United States Bankruptcy Judge

   /s/ William T. Thurman                                    
 William T. Thurman
 United States Bankruptcy Judge

 Approved

   /s/ Dee Benson                                     
 Dee Benson
 Chief Judge, United States District Court for the 
 District of Utah
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UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF UTAH

STANDING ORDER NUMBER 2

Supplementation to Local Rules 1007-2, 1020-1, 2002-1, 2003-1, 2081-1, 2083-1, 3022-1,
5003-1, 5005-1, 5080-1, 6070-1 and Appendices

Effective For All Cases Filed on or after the effective date of the Bankruptcy Abuse
Prevention and Consumer Protection Act of 2005.

Whereas, on April 20, 2005 the Bankruptcy Abuse Prevention and Consumer Protection

Act of 2005 (the Act) was enacted into law; and 

Whereas, most provisions of the Act are effective on October 17, 2005; and

Whereas, the Advisory Committee on Bankruptcy Rules has prepared Interim Rules

designed to implement the substantive and procedural changes mandated by the Act; and

Whereas, the Committee on Rules of Practice and Procedure of the Judicial Conference of

the United States has also approved these Interim Rules and recommends the adoption of the

Interim Rules to provide uniform procedures for implementing the Act; and

Whereas, the general effective date of the Act has not provided sufficient time to

promulgate rules after appropriate public notice and an opportunity for comment; and

Whereas, the Executive Committee of the Judicial Conference of the United States on

August 11, 2005 approved Official Forms; 

NOW THEREFORE, pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2071, Rule 83 of the Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure and Rule 9029 of the Federal Rules of Bankruptcy Procedure, the Interim Rules

are adopted in their entirety without change, and the Official Forms are also adopted in their

entirety without change, to be effective on or after the effective date of the Bankruptcy Abuse
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Prevention and Consumer Protection Act of 2005. 
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RULE 1007-2

STATEMENT OF INTENTION

 The court may dismiss an individual debtor’s Chapter 7 case if the debtor fails to comply

with § 521(2) of the Code and Fed. R. Bankr. P. 1007(b)(2).  If the debtor does not file a

statement of intention timely, the trustee must file a notice of failure to comply and serve it on the

debtor and debtor’s attorney.  If an objection is not filed within 20 days after service of the notice,

the clerk must enter an order dismissing the case.  The objecting party must set a hearing date and

give notice to parties in interest as provided in Fed. R. Bankr. P. 2002(a).  If a hearing on the

objection is not held within 40 days after the objection is filed, the clerk must enter the order of

dismissal, unless the court orders otherwise.

LISTS, SCHEDULES, STATEMENTS AND CERTIFICATIONS

L. R. 1007-2

Title: The title of the rule has been deleted.

Text: The text of the rule has been deleted because it is superceded by various provisions
of the Code.

L. R.  1007-2:

Title: The title of this rule is new.  
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Text: Much of the text of this rule has been moved from Local Rule 5005-1.  Fed. R. Bankr.
P. 5005 deals with the filing and transmittal of papers, but Fed. R. Bankr. P. 1007 deals with
lists, schedules, statements and time limits.  Therefore, the content of current Local Rule
5005-1, as amended, is moved to new Local Rule 1007-2 to be consistent with the national
rules. Other modifications have been made to the rule.

(a) Subsections (1) and (2) are new.  They are taken from Local Rule 5005-1 as amended
by Standing Order Number 1. 

The addition of § 521(i) to the Code eliminates the necessity of providing a means for
dismissing an individual Chapter 7 or 13 debtor’s case if the documents listed in § 521(a)(1)
are not timely filed.  New Local Rule 1007-2 has therefore been modified to delete provisions
that would conflict with § 521(i).  Certain circumstances, however, are not covered by
§ 521(i), and new Local Rule 1007-2 has been modified to cover those circumstances.  The
current procedure for filing a trustee’s report noting deficiencies, dismissal if no objection to
the report is filed, objection to dismissal, and hearing, has not changed.

Subsection (a)(1)(A) deals with the dismissal of any case in which a debtor who is not
an individual fails to timely file a matrix of creditors and papers required by § 521(a)(1) or
§ 1116(1). 

Subsection (a)(1)(B) deals with the dismissal of a Chapter 11 or 12 case in which the
debtor is an individual and fails to timely file a matrix of creditors and papers required by
§ 521(a)(1) or § 1116(1). 

Subsection (a)(1)(C) deals with the dismissal of a Chapter 7 case in which the debtor
is an individual and fails to timely file a matrix of creditors.   

Subsection (2) is taken from Standing Order Number 1 which incorporates Local Rule
5005-1.  Subsection (2) deals with the dismissal of a case if a chapter 13 debtor fails to timely
file a matrix of creditors or a Chapter 13 plan.  The failure of a Chapter 12 debtor to timely
file a plan under § 1221 is dealt with in Local Rule 2082-1(b).  

(b) New subsection (b) requires that an additional matrix be filed listing the names and
addresses of creditors holding claims under § 507(a)(1)(A) and (B) to enable the various
notices required under the Code to be forwarded to such creditors.  If a debtor files such a
matrix of creditors, the rule directs the clerk to give the notices specified in § 704(c)(1)(A)
and (B), and § 704(c)(1)(C).
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(a) Petitions, Schedules, Statements, and Plans.

(1) Procedure for Dismissal of Chapter 7, 11 or 12 Cases for Failure to Timely

File Certain Papers.  If a debtor does not timely file certain papers identified in

subsections A, B, and C below, the case will be dismissed using the following procedure.

The United States trustee or case trustee must file a Section 341 Meeting Report

indicating the failure to comply and serve it on the debtor and debtor’s attorney.  If an

objection to dismissal is not filed within 20 days after service of the Section 341 Meeting

Report, the clerk must enter an order dismissing the case.  If an objection is timely filed,

the dismissal is stayed.  The objecting party must set a hearing and give notice to parties

in interest as provided in Fed. R. Bankr. P. 2002(a).  Unless the court orders otherwise, the

clerk must enter an order dismissing the case if a hearing on the objection is not held

within 40 days after the objection is filed.

(A) Voluntary Case in Which the Debtor is Not an Individual.  The

(c) Subsection (c) has been moved without change from Local Rule 5005-1(c) to this
rule.

(d) Subsection (d) is new.  It provides three instances in which the clerk must enter an
order of dismissal for failure to comply with § 109(h) at the time the petition is filed.  A
debtor must either (1) certify compliance with § 109(h)(1), (2) request a waiver under
§ 109(h)(3)(A) on the petition and file a separate application and proposed order granting the
waiver with the petition, or (3) request a determination under § 109(h)(4) by separate
pleading filed with the petition.  If a debtor files a request for waiver under § 109(h)(3)(A),
the court may grant the exemption and sign the order, deny the application, or may set the
matter for hearing.  If the application is granted but the debtor fails to timely file a
certification indicating compliance with § 109(h)(1), the clerk must enter an order of
dismissal.  If the application for exemption is denied, the clerk must enter an order of
dismissal.  If the court does not determine that § 109(h)(4) is applicable within 40 days of
filing the petition, the clerk must enter an order of dismissal.    
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court may dismiss a voluntary case in which the debtor is not an individual, except

a case that has been converted from a Chapter 11 case to a Chapter 7 case, if the

debtor fails to file a list of creditors’ names and addresses under Local Rules 1007-

1 or 1007-2(b), a list of equity security holders, or documents required by

§ 521(a)(1) or § 1116(1), within the time provided by Fed. R. Bankr. P. 1007 or

any extension granted under § 1116(3). 

(B) Voluntary Chapter 11 or 12 Case in Which the Debtor is an

Individual.  The court may dismiss a voluntary case if the debtor fails to file a list

of creditors’ names and addresses under Local Rules 1007-1 or 1007-2(b), or

documents required by § 521(a)(1) or § 1116(1), within the time provided by Fed.

R. Bankr. P. 1007 or within any extension granted under § 1116(3).

(C) Voluntary Chapter 7 Case in Which the Debtor is an Individual. 

The court may dismiss a voluntary case, except a case that has been converted

from a Chapter 11 case to a Chapter 7 case, if the debtor fails to file a list of

creditors’ names and addresses under Local Rules 1007-1 or 1007-2(b), within the

time provided by Fed. R. Bankr. P. 1007 and 3015.

(2) Procedure for Dismissal of a Voluntary Case under Chapter 13 for Failure

to Timely File Certain Papers.  The court may dismiss a voluntary case, except a case that

has been converted from a Chapter 7 case to a Chapter 13 case, if the debtor fails to file a

list of creditors’ names and addresses under Local Rules 1007-1 or 1007-2(b), or a

Chapter 13 plan within the time provided by Fed. R. Bankr. P. 1007 and 3015.  In a

Chapter 13 case, a hearing on an objection filed in response to the trustee’s Section 341

Meeting Report will be held at the time scheduled as the confirmation hearing on Official
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Form 9I, unless the court orders otherwise.  No notice in addition to the notice of hearing

contained on Official Form 9I is required.

(b) List of Creditors and Equity Security Holders.  The debtor must file a list of all

creditors and, if applicable, an additional list of creditors holding claims under § 507(a)(1)(A) and

(B), and a list of equity security holders, in the manner prescribed by the clerk’s office to

facilitate the use of automated equipment.  If the debtor files a list of creditors holding claims

under § 507(a)(1)(A) and (B), the clerk may provide the notice specified in §704(c)(1)(A) and (B)

at least 20 days prior to the meeting of creditors under §341.  The clerk may mail the  notice

provided by the trustee as specified in §704(c)(1)(C) within 20 days after the debtor is granted a

discharge under §727.

(c) Cover Sheets in Contested Matters.  Unless papers are filed electronically, a

properly completed amendment cover sheet must be filed with the clerk with each amendment to

a petition, statement of financial affairs, schedule, list of creditors, Chapter 12 or Chapter 13 plan,

or other document required by the court.  A properly completed civil cover sheet must be filed

with the clerk with each notice of appeal and motion to withdraw the reference.  Copies of the

appropriate cover sheets may be obtained from the clerk.

(d) Section 109(h) Compliance.

(1) Section 109 (h) Certification.  If the debtor fails to certify compliance with

§ 109(h)(1) on the petition, or request a waiver under § 109(h)(3)(A) on the petition and file a

separate application for exemption and proposed order with the petition, or fails to file a request for

determination by the Court under § 109(h)(4) with the petition, the clerk must enter an order

dismissing the case.

(2) Certification of Eligibility for Exemption.  A debtor who requests a waiver
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under § 109(h)(3)(A) on the petition must also file with the petition a separate application for

exemption and proposed order granting the application for exemption.  The court may grant the

application for exemption, set the application for exemption for hearing, or may deny the application

for exemption without hearing.  If the application for exemption is granted, the debtor must timely

file a certification indicating compliance with the requirements of § 109(h)(1) or the clerk must enter

an order of dismissal.  If the application for exemption is denied, the clerk must enter an order of

dismissal.

(3) Section 109(h)(4) Hearing.   A debtor who timely files a request for

determination by the Court under § 109(h)(4) must set the matter for a hearing to be held within 40

days of filing the petition with notice pursuant to Local Rule 2002-1.  If the Court does not determine

that § 109(h)(4) is applicable within 40 days of the filing of the petition, or within such additional

time as the Court, for cause, determines, the clerk must enter an order of dismissal. 
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RULE 1020-1

CHAPTER 11 SMALL BUSINESS CASES

In a Chapter 11 reorganization case, a debtor that is a small business may elect to be

considered a small business by filing a written statement of election in accordance with Fed. R.

Bankr. P. 1020, or by marking the appropriate box on Official Form 1.

L. R. 1020-1

Title: The title of the rule has been deleted.

Text: The text of the rule has been deleted because it is superseded by various provisions of
the Code.
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RULE 2002-1

NOTICE TO CREDITORS AND OTHER INTERESTED PARTIES

(a) Scope of Rule.  [No change.]

(b) Form of Notice.  [No change.].

  (c) Service of Notice.  [No change.]

(d) Returned Notices.  [No change.]

(e) Notice of Compensation in Chapter 7 Case.  [No change.] 

(f) Notice of Entry of Confirmation Order.   [No change.]

(g) Notice to Certain Governmental Entities.  In addition to all other notice

requirements found in the Federal Rules of Bankruptcy Procedure, when notices are required to

be sent to the Internal Revenue Service, the Utah State Tax Commission, or the Utah Department

of Workforce Services, or the Office of Recovery Services, notices should be mailed or delivered

to the following addresses:

Internal Revenue Service
Attn: Special Procedures, Mail Stop 5021
50 South 200 East

L. R. 2002-1

Title: The title of the rule has not changed.

Text: There is no change to subsections (a) through (f).

Subsection (g) has been modified to add an address for the Office of Recovery
Services. 
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Salt Lake City, Utah 84111

Taxpayer Service Division
Utah State Tax Commission
Attn: Bankruptcy Unit
210 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84134-3340

Utah Department of Workforce Services
Collections - Bankruptcy
140 East 300 South
P.O. Box 45288
Salt Lake City, Utah 84145-0288

Office of Recovery Services
P. O. Box 45033
Salt Lake City, Utah 84145-0033

The above addresses are correct as of the effective date of these Local Rules.  The party providing

notice is responsible for obtaining any new addresses.
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RULE 2003-1

MEETING OF CREDITORS AND EQUITY SECURITY HOLDERS

(a) Attendance.     [No change.]

(b) Telephonic Appearance at Meeting of Creditors.     [No change.]

(c) Debtor Identification.     [No change.]

(d) Information Requested by the Trustee or by the United States Trustee at the

Meeting of Creditors. The debtor must produce the following materials no later than 10 days

after a written request by the trustee or United States trustee:

(1)  bank statements, canceled checks, and checkbooks, advices of payment,

and tax returns, in addition to those required to be filed with the court pursuant to 11

U.S.C. § 521; and

(2) any other documents, recorded information, or other information reasonably 

  necessary for the effective administration of the estate.

(3) Requests for documents made pursuant to this subsection are distinct from

documents required to be filed pursuant to § 521.  Documents requested to be produced to

L. R. 2003-1

Title: The title of the rule has not changed.

Text: The text of subsection (d) is changed to include advices of payment and tax returns
requested by the trustee or the United States trustee.  The rule clarifies that the requests
to supply tax returns referred to in this rule are not requests as referenced in § 521, do
not require that the tax returns be filed with the court, and are not the kind of requests
for which a discharge shall not be granted if the debtor fails to comply.    
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the trustee or United States trustee, pursuant to this subsection, are not required to be filed

with the court.  

(e) Costs of Meeting Facilities.  [No change.]

(f) Notice of Rescheduled Meetings of Creditors.  [No change.]
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RULE 2081-1

CHAPTER 11 - GENERAL

(a) Initial Financial Reports and Other Documents. Not later than 20 days after

filing a Chapter 11 petition, non-small business the debtors must provide the United States trustee

with an initial financial report in the form approved by the United States trustee, and not later

than 7 days after filing a Chapter 11 petition, all Chapter 11 debtors shall provide evidence of any

permits, licenses of operations, and any policies of insurance maintained by the debtor, unless the

court orders otherwise.

(b) Monthly Financial Reports.   [No change.]

(c) Post-Confirmation Summary Report.  [No change.]

L. R. 2081-1

Title: The title of the rule has not changed.

Text: The text of the rule of subsection (a) clarifies that the requirement to file an initial
financial report does not apply to a small business debtor.  The rule also fixes a time in which
all Chapter 11 debtors must provide certain documents to the United States trustee. 
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RULE 2083-1

CHAPTER 13 - GENERAL

L. R. 20893-1

Title: The title of the rule has not changed.

Text: Subsection (b) is new.  It requires a Chapter 13 plan to include the information
regarding the creditors to receive adequate protection or lease payments.  

Subsection (b)(1) is new.  All adequate protection payments under § 1326(a)(1) shall be
included in the payment made by the debtor to the trustee, plus the trustee’s statutory fee, and
disbursed to the applicable creditor by the trustee.  

Subsection (b)(2) is new.  If a Chapter 13 plan provides that lease payments are to be
made by the trustee, the plan payment must be increased by the amount of the lease payment,
plus the trustee’s statutory fee, and will be disbursed to the applicable creditor by the trustee. 
If the Chapter 13 plan provides that lease payments will be paid directly by the debtor to the
creditor, then the amount will not be included in the payment made to the trustee.

Current subsection (b) has been renumbered to subsection (c) but is otherwise
unchanged.

Current subsection (c) has been renumbered to subsection (d) but is otherwise
unchanged.

Current subsection (d) has been renumbered to subsection (e) but is otherwise
unchanged.

Current subsection (e) has been renumbered to subsection (f) but is otherwise
unchanged.

Current subsection (f) has been renumbered as (g), renamed and divided into two
subsections.  The current text of the rule has been renumbered as subsection (2) and has not
changed.  

A new subsection (g)(1) has been added that allows trustees to disburse prior to entry
of confirmation of a plan, but requires that a proof of claim be filed by the creditor with the
court.  No preconfirmation disbursement will be made on claims included in proposed Chapter
13 plans or filed by the debtor or trustee, if the applicable creditor has not yet filed a claim.
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(a) Chapter 13 Plan Payments. [No change.]

(b) Preconfirmation Payments Pursuant to § 1326(a)(1).  The Chapter 13 plan shall

list the creditor name, address, account number, payment due date, and payment amount for each

creditor entitled to preconfirmation adequate protection, or lease payments to be paid by the

trustee. 

(1) Adequate Protection.  Unless otherwise ordered by the court, all

preconfirmation adequate protection payments to holders of secured claims required under

§ 1326(a)(1) shall not be made by the debtor directly to the secured claimant, but shall be

paid to and disbursed by the trustee.  The debtor’s preconfirmation plan payments to the

trustee shall include the amount required under § 1326(a)(1) and the amount necessary to

pay the trustee's statutory fee.  

(2) Lease Payments.  If the Chapter 13 plan provides for lease payments over

the term of the plan to be paid by the trustee, preconfirmation lease payments to such

lessors shall be paid by the trustee and the above provisions regarding preconfirmation

adequate protection payments shall apply.  If the Chapter 13 plan provides for lease

payments to be paid by the debtor and not by the trustee over the term of the plan, then

preconfirmation lease payments to such lessors required under § 1326(a)(1) shall be made

Current subsection (g) has been renumbered to subsection (h) but is otherwise
unchanged.

Subsection (i) is new.  It provides a procedure for the trustee to notify the debtor and
counsel that all payments under the plan have been completed, and for the debtor to request a
discharge within a fixed time using a form attached to the Local Rules as Appendix E.  If no
objections to the request for discharge are filed within a fixed time, the court may enter the
debtor’s discharge.



-18-Standing Order 2 Ex Redlined.wpd

directly by the debtor and not by the trustee.

(bc) Documents Provided to the Trustee at the Meeting of Creditors.  [No change.]

(cd) Failure to Make Payments or to Provide Documents.  [No change.]

(de ) Postpetition Child Support, Alimony, Maintenance Payments Deemed

Voluntary.  [No change.]

(ef) Eligibility Hearing.  [No change.]

(fg) Distribution in Discontinued Preconfirmation Cases. Distribution in

Preconfirmed Cases.

(1) Preconfirmation Disbursements by the Chapter 13 Trustee.  Preconfirmation

disbursements under § 1326(a)(1) are hereby authorized without further order, but such

disbursements shall not be made unless such creditor has filed a proof of claim with the

court.  Preconfirmation disbursements under  § 1326(a)(1) shall be made to creditors

within 30 days of the filing of the proof of claim, unless, within 7 business days prior to the

end of such 30 day period, the trustee has not received sufficient, cleared funds to make

such payment.  The trustee is authorized to deduct from an allowed claim all § 1326(a)(1)

preconfirmation disbursements.

(2) Distribution in Discontinued Preconfirmation Cases.  [No change].

(gh) Confirmation.  [No change.]

(i) Request for Discharge.  As soon as practicable after the completion of all payments

under the plan, the trustee shall file with the court and serve upon the debtor and debtor’s counsel a

Notice of Completion of Plan Payments.  Within 60 days thereafter, the debtor shall file and serve

on all parties in interest a Verification and Request for Discharge in the form attached to these Local

Rules as Appendix E.  If no written objection to the Verification and Request for Discharge is filed
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within 20 days after service thereof, the court may enter a discharge pursuant to § 1328(a) without

further notice or hearing.
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RULE 3022-1

FINAL REPORT/DECREE (Ch. 11)

(a) Non-Individual.  A Chapter 11 plan filed by a non-individual should set a date, not

later than 1 year after the entry of the order confirming the plan, prior to which a final decree

closing the case will be entered under § 350 of the Code and Fed. R. Bankr. P. 3022.  Not later

than 30 days before such date, the reorganized debtor should file, serve upon all interested parties

and set for hearing, a motion for a final decree.  The motion must set forth evidence of full

administration for the purpose of entering the final decree.  A party may object to entry of the

final decree prior to the date set forth in the plan or prior to the expiration of 1 year from the entry

of the order confirming the plan, whichever is earlier.  The objection must be served on the

reorganized debtor and debtor's attorney and must be set for a hearing.  If the plan of

reorganization does not provide a date certain for entry of a final decree or if the reorganized

debtor fails to timely file a motion for a final decree, the final decree may be entered by the court,

on or after 1 year from entry of the order confirming the plan. The decree must specify that the

case is closed upon entry of the final decree. The court may extend the time for entry of the final

L. R. 3022-1

Title: The title of the rule has not changed.

Text: The text of the rule has now been divided into two parts: one non-individuals, and one
for individual debtors.  Subsection (a) applies only to non-individuals.  Subsection (b) fixes a
time for an individual debtor to request a final decree after all plan payments have been made,
and for notice of the final decree and discharge to be given.
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decree upon motion and notice to all parties. 

(b) Individual.  A final decree must be sought by an individual within 30 days after

completion of all payments under the plan.  The final decree shall serve as a notice of the order of

discharge of the individual debtor once all payments under the plan are complete.
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RULE 5003-1

THE CLERK’S AUTHORITY

(a) Orders, Judgments and Other Documents.  The clerk may sign his or her name,

unless directed by the court to sign or imprint the court’s facsimile signature and enter the following

without further directive from the court: 

(1) an order entering default for failure to plead or otherwise defend under Fed.

R. Bankr. P. 7055; 

(2) a subpoena for a party not represented by an attorney;

(3) an order of discharge;

(4) an order of dismissal, as directed by Local Rules 2003-1(a), 2082-1(b), 2083-

1(bd) and 7041-1, or similar dismissal orders arising from the failure of the debtor to respond

to a motion to dismiss; and

(5) any other order or document that does not require approval or order by the

court under Fed. R. Civ. P. 77(c).

(b) Review of Clerk’s Actions.   [No change.]

L. R. 5003-1

Title: The title of the rule has not changed.

Text: A conforming change has been made in subsection (a)(4) to cross-reference Local Rule
2083-1(d).
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RULE 5005-1

FILING REQUIREMENTS

(a) Filing of Papers. [No change.]

(b) Petitions, Schedules, Statements, and Plans.

(1) Dismissal of Voluntary Case for Late Filing of Certain Papers.  The

court may dismiss a voluntary case, except a case that has been converted from a Chapter 11 case

to a Chapter 7 case or from a Chapter 7 case to a Chapter 13 case, if the debtor fails to file a list of

creditors’ names and addresses, verified schedules and statement of financial affairs, a list of

equity security holders, or a Chapter 13 plan within the time provided by Fed. R. Bankr. P. 1007

and 3015.  If a debtor does not file the papers timely, the United States trustee or case trustee

L. R. 5005-1

Title: The title of the rule has not changed.

Text: Subsection (b)(1) of L. R. 5005-1, as modified by Standing Order Number 1, has been
changed and moved to L. R. 1007-2.  Fed. R. Bankr. P. 5005 deals with the filing and
transmittal of papers, but Fed. R. Bankr. P. 1007 deals with lists, schedules, statements and
time limits.  Therefore, the content of current Local Rule 5005-1, as amended, is moved to new
Local Rule 1007-2 to be consistent with the national rules.

Subsection (b)(2) has been deleted because parties in interest may now obtain copies of
pleadings electronically and extra paper copies are unnecessary. 

Subsection (c) has been changed and moved to L. R. 1007-2.

Subdivision (d) has been moved, unchanged, to L. R. 1007-2.

Subdivisions (e) and (f) have been renumbered to (b) and (c).
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must file a Section 341 Meeting Report indicating the failure to comply and serve it on the debtor

and debtor’s attorney.  If an objection to dismissal is not filed within 20 days after service of the

Section 341 Meeting Report, the clerk must enter an order dismissing the case.  If an objection is

timely filed, the dismissal is stayed.  In a case other than a Chapter 13 case, the objecting party

must set a hearing and give notice to parties in interest as provided in Fed. R. Bankr. P. 2002(a). 

Unless the court orders otherwise, the clerk must enter an order dismissing the case if a hearing

on the objection is not held within 40 days after the objection is filed.  In a Chapter 13 case, a

hearing on an objection filed in response to the trustee’s Section 341 Meeting Report will be held

at the time scheduled as the confirmation hearing on Official Form 9I, unless the court orders

otherwise.  No notice in addition to the notice of hearing contained on Official Form 9I is

required.

(2) Papers and Number of Copies Required. In accordance with Fed. R. Bankr.

P. 1007, the papers listed below must be filed in voluntary cases in addition to the lists required

by subsection (c) of this rule.  Filing Users are excused from providing copies of papers filed

electronically.

Chapter 7

Petition;
Statement of financial affairs;
Schedules A through J;
Statement of intention (if required under § 521 of the Code); and
Statement disclosing compensation paid or promised to be paid to the attorney for
the debtor.

Chapter 11

Petition, original and 3 copies;
 Statement of financial affairs, original and 3 copies;

Schedules A through J, original and 3 copies;
List of creditors, excluding insiders, holding the 20 largest unsecured claims,
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original and 3 copies; 
List of equity security holders; and
Statement disclosing compensation paid or promised to be paid to the attorney for
the debtor, original and 3 copies.

Chapter 12

Petition;
Statement of financial affairs;
Schedules A through J;
List of equity security holders (if the debtor is a corporation or a partnership); and
Statement disclosing compensation paid or promised to be paid to the attorney for
the debtor.

Chapter 13

Petition;
Schedules A through J;
Statement of financial affairs; 
Copies of all payment advices or other evidence of payment received within 60
days before the date of the filing of the petition, by the debtor from any employer
of the debtor; 
Chapter 13 plan and plan summary; and
Statement disclosing compensation paid or promised to be paid to the attorney for
the debtor.

(c) List of Creditors and Equity Security Holders.   The debtor must file a list of

creditors and, if applicable, a list of equity security holders, in the manner prescribed by the

clerk’s office to facilitate the use of automated equipment.

(d) Cover Sheets in Contested Matters.   Unless papers are filed electronically, a

properly completed amendment cover sheet must be filed with the clerk with each amendment to

a petition, statement of financial affairs, schedule, list of creditors, Chapter 12 or Chapter 13 plan,

or other document required by the court.  A properly completed civil cover sheet must be filed

with the clerk with each notice of appeal and motion to withdraw the reference.  Copies of the

appropriate cover sheets may be obtained from the clerk.

(eb) Date-Stamped Copies.  [No change.]
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(fc) Facsimile Filing.  [No change.]
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RULE 5080-1

FEES - GENERAL

(a) Payment of Fees.  [No change.]

(b) Dishonored Payments.  [No change.]

(c) Application for Waiver of Chapter 7 Filing Fee.  A Chapter 7 debtor

seeking a fee waiver under 28 U.S.C. § 1930(f) must file a fee waiver using Official Form 3B. 

The court may grant, deny, or set the fee waiver application for hearing.  If the court grants the

fee waiver application, notice will be given to the United States trustee and panel trustee, giving

them until 10 days after the Section 341 meeting to file objections and set the matter for hearing. 

If the court denies the fee waiver application, notice will be given to the debtor giving the debtor

10 days after the notice is sent to pay the filing fee in full, submit an application to pay in

installments, or to request a hearing.  The clerk will enter an order dismissing the case if the

debtor fails to act within the 10 days.  If a hearing is requested and granted, the court will

schedule a hearing with 10 days’ notice to the United States trustee, panel trustee, and the debtor. 

L. R.  5080-1:

Title: The title has not changed.

Text:

(a) No change.

(b) No change.

(c) Subsection (c) is new.  It is added to provide a procedure for the filing and processing
of an application for waiver of the filing fee in a chapter 7 case. 
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The clerk will enter an order dismissing the case if the debtor fails to appear at the scheduled

hearing.  If a hearing is requested and denied, the debtor has 10 days to pay the filing fee in full,

submit an application to pay in installments, or appeal, or the clerk will enter an order dismissing

the case.  If an order denying a fee waiver application is appealed and affirmed, the debtor has 10

days to pay the filing fee or submit an application to pay in installments, or the clerk will enter an

order dismissing the case. 



-29-Standing Order 2 Ex Redlined.wpd

RULE 6070-1

TAX RETURNS AND TAX REFUNDS

(a) Tax Requirements in Chapter 11, 12 and 13 Cases.    Debtors in possession,

Chapter 11 trustees, and Chapter 12 and 13 debtors, are subject to the requirements and

regulations of the Internal Revenue Service and any applicable state or local taxing authority. 

Debtors who are not employers are required to comply only with subsection (6) below.

(1) Federal Taxes. The debtor, debtor in possession or the trustee must comply

with the Internal Revenue Code and regulations regarding withholding of taxes from the

wages of employees, the payment of the employer's FICA and FUTA tax liabilities, the

making of deposits of such taxes, and the filing of employment tax returns as well as any

excise or income tax returns for which the estate is liable.

(2) State Taxes.  The debtor, debtor in possession or the trustee must comply

with the laws and regulations of any applicable state or local taxing authority regarding

withholding of taxes from the wages of employees; the collection and remittance of other

types of tax which the estate is required to collect, deposit with, or remit to any applicable

L. R. 6070-1

Title: The title of the rule has not changed.

Text: Conforming changes have been made in subsections (a)(4), (5), and (6) to cross-
reference Local Rule 2002-1(g).

Subsection (d) has been deleted because it is superseded by various provisions of the
Code.
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state or local taxing authority; the payment of unemployment insurance contributions to

the appropriate state or local taxing authority; and the timely filing of returns accounting

for the same.

(3) Trust Accounts. Within 20 days after the petition date, the debtor in

possession or trustee must open separate bank trust accounts for the Internal Revenue

Service and for each applicable state and local taxing authority for all tax deposits.  Only

the tax deposits due each entity are to be made into these trust accounts as they accrue

each pay period.  A Chapter 12 or 13 debtor must provide the applicable trustee proof of

such trust accounts at the § 341 meeting.

(4) Notification.  The debtor in possession or trustee should notify the Internal

Revenue Service and each state or local taxing authority of the location and account

numbers of the respective trust accounts opened under subsection (a)(3) of this rule.  The

notices should be sent within 5 days after the date the account is opened.  Notices to the

Internal Revenue Service, the Utah State Tax Commission, and the Utah Department of

Workforce Services must be mailed or delivered to addresses cited in Local Rule 2002-

1(fg). 

(5) State Deposit Verification.  The debtor, debtor in possession or trustee

must, if applicable, file the Utah State Tax Commission's Verification of Taxpayer

Deposit at the address shown in Local Rule 2002-1(fg) within 5 days after making the

required deposit.

(6) Filing and Payment.  The debtor, debtor in possession or trustee must: (A)

timely file any required tax returns with the Internal Revenue Service; (B) timely file any

required tax returns with any applicable state or local taxing authority; (C) timely file
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unemployment insurance contribution reports with applicable state or local authorities;

and (D) pay taxes on a current basis.  Returns and reports filed with and payments made to

the Internal Revenue Service, the Utah State Tax Commission and the Utah Department of

Workforce Services should be delivered to the addresses stated in Local Rule 2002-1(fg),

not to the regular addresses for filing the returns and reports.

(b) Tax Returns in Chapter 12 Cases.    [No change.]

(c) Tax Returns in Chapter 13 Cases.    [No change.]

(d) Modification of the Automatic Stay for Certain Assessments and Refunds of

Taxing Entities.  Unless a party in interest objects and the court orders otherwise, the stay of

§ 362 of the Code is modified to provide for the following assessments and refunds in any case

filed in this district.  The Internal Revenue Service, Utah Tax Commission, and the Utah

Department of  Workforce Services are authorized to:

(1) assess tax liabilities reflected on voluntary filed tax returns and tax returns

prepared under authority of applicable statutory provisions; and

(2) make refunds in the ordinary course of business to debtors who have filed

cases under Chapter 9, 12 or 13, to trustees appointed in Chapter 7 and 11 cases, or, if a

trustee has not been appointed in a Chapter 11 case, to the debtor in possession.
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APPENDIX E

FORM FOR VERIFICATION AND REQUEST FOR DISCHARGE

[INSERT CAPTION STATED IN LOCAL RULE 9004-1(a)]

The Debtor(s), in the above-captioned case, being duly sworn, state as follows: 

1.  The Chapter 13 Trustee has issued a Notice of Completion of Plan Payments and

the Debtors hereby request the Court to enter a discharge in this case.

2. The Debtors have filed Official Form 23.

3. A.  I/We have not been required by a judicial or administrative order, or by statute
to pay any domestic support obligation as defined in 11 U.S.C. § 101(14A) either before this
bankruptcy was filed or at any time after the filing of this bankruptcy.

       OR

[Note:  If "B" is applicable, all information required in questions B.1 through 4
must be provided] 

B.1.  I/We certify that prior to the date of this affidavit I/We have paid all amounts
due under any domestic support obligation [as defined in 11 U.S.C. § 101(14A)] required by a
judicial or administrative order, or by statute including amounts due before this bankruptcy was
filed, to the extent provided for by the plan.  The name and address of each holder of a domestic
support obligation are as follows:

_______________(NAME)_____________
_______________(ADDRESS)_________
___________________________________
___________________________________

B.2.  My/Our most recent address is as follows:

_______________(ADDRESS)___________
____________________________________
____________________________________

B.3.  The name and address of my/our most recent employer(s) is as follows:

________________(NAME)__ _________
________________(ADDRESS) ________
___________________________________
____________________________________
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B.4.  The following creditors hold a claim that is not discharged under 11 U.S.C.
§  523 (a)(2) or (a)(4) or a claim that was reaffirmed under 11 U.S.C. § 524(c):

___________________(NAME)___________
___________________(NAME)___________

4.  I/We have not received a discharge in a Chapter 7, 11 or 12 bankruptcy case filed
within 4 years prior to filing this Chapter 13 bankruptcy. 

5. I/We have not received a discharge in another Chapter 13 bankruptcy case filed
within 2 years prior to filing this Chapter 13 bankruptcy.

6.  A. I/We did not have either at the time of filing this bankruptcy or at the present
time, equity in excess of $125,000.00 in the type of property described in 11
U.S.C. § 522(p)(1)[generally the debtor's homestead]

    OR

B.  There is not currently pending any proceeding in which I [in an individual
case] or either of us [in a joint case] may be found guilty of a felony of the kind described in 11
U.S.C. § 522 (q)(1)(A) or liable for a debt of the kind described in 11 U.S.C. § 522 (q)(1)(B).

/s/______________________________
Debtor

/s/______________________________
Debtor

NOTICE

Any objection to this verification must be filed within 20 days after service of this verification.  If
no objection is filed, the Court may enter a discharge pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1328(a) without
further notice or hearing.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

The undersigned hereby certifies that on _____(date)_______, 200_, a true and correct copy of
the Affidavit Requesting Issuance of Discharge was served on all creditors and parties in interest
listed on the attached matrix by either first-class, U.S. mail or via the CM/ECF system of the
United States Bankruptcy Court.

/s/______________________________
(Signature of person completing service)


