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RASURE, Bankruptcy Judge.

Appellant Ronald L. Carlson appeals from an Order Sustaining Objection in

which the bankruptcy court denied his claim to a homestead exemption in the trailer that

serves as his primary residence.  Appellant contends that the bankruptcy court erred in

concluding that Utah’s homestead statute grants an exemption in a mobile home only if



2 Although statements in Appellant’s brief generated some confusion as to when
Appellant and the Trailer moved to Arizona, the Chapter 7 Trustee stipulated below that
the Trailer was located in Utah at the time the Appellant filed bankruptcy.  Transcript of
Hearing of March 5, 2003, at 5, in  Appellant’s Appendix at 30, ll. 16-18.  A debtor’s
right to an exemption is determined as of the date the bankruptcy petition was filed. 
See Lampe v .  Iola  Bank & Trust  ( In  re  Lampe), 278 B.R. 205, 210 (10th Cir. BAP
2002), a f f ’d , 331 F.3d 750 (10th Cir. 2003).  Therefore Appellant’s subsequent
relocation of the Trailer to Arizona for the winter of 2002-03 is not relevant to the
resolution of this appeal.

3 On June 26, 2003, Appellant’s Chapter 7 case was converted to a case under
Chapter 13.  On November 7, 2003, the Court entered an order substituting the
Chapter 13 Trustee for the Chapter 7 Trustee as Appellee.
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the claimant also owns the real property on which the mobile home is situated.  Although

Utah’s homestead statute is not a model of clarity, we agree with Appellant that the

statute does not require the owner of a mobile home to own land in order to claim an

exemption in the mobile home.  We therefore REVERSE and REMAND.

I. Background

On December 10, 2002, Appellant filed for relief under Chapter 7 of the

Bankruptcy Code.  Appellant owned and resided exclusively in a 32 foot trailer

equipped with the amenities of a home, including furnishings and appliances, and

plumbing, heating, air conditioning and electrical systems (the “Trailer”).  On the petition

date, the Trailer was located at a recreational vehicle park in Utah.  Soon thereafter,

Appellant transported the Trailer to Arizona where he resided in the Trailer over the

winter months.2  The value of Appellant’s equity in the Trailer is approximately $8,000

to $11,000.  On his Schedule C (“Property Claimed As Exempt”), Appellant claimed

the Trailer exempt pursuant to Utah’s homestead statute, Utah Code Ann. § 78-23-3

(2002).  

The Chapter 7 Trustee3 objected to Appellant’s claim of exemption in the Trailer,

contending that Utah’s homestead statute “does not provide for a homestead exemption

in a recreational vehicle.”  Trustee’s Objection to Debtor’s Homestead Exemption at 2,

in  Appellant’s Appendix at 9.  Appellant responded that the Trailer “is the debtor’s

residence and qualifies as a mobile home within the meaning of the state exemption



4 See  Clark  v .  Brayshaw (In  re  Brayshaw), 912 F.2d 1255, 1256 (10th Cir.
1990) (“[g]rant or denial of a claimed exemption is a final appealable order from a
bankruptcy proceeding”); Lampe v .  Iola  Bank & Trust  ( In  re  Lampe), 278 B.R.
205, 208 (10th Cir. BAP 2002), af f ’d , 331 F.3d 750 (10th Cir. 2003).

5 Utah has opted out of the federal exemption scheme contained in Section 522(d)
of the Bankruptcy Code.  See  Utah Code Ann. § 78-23-15 (2002).
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statue [sic].”  Debtor’s Response to Trustee’s Objection to Debtor’s Homestead

Exemption at 1-2, in  Appellant’s Appendix at 14-15.  After a hearing on stipulated

facts, the bankruptcy court declined to decide whether the Trailer was a recreational

vehicle or a mobile home, or whether a recreational vehicle may be a mobile home,

concluding that even if the Trailer qualified as a mobile home, it was not exempt because

under the Utah homestead statute, a mobile home may be claimed as exempt only  if the

claimant also owns the real property on which the mobile home is situated. 

II. Appel late  Jur isdic t ion

Neither party filed an election seeking review by the United States District Court

for the District of Utah pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 158(c)(1) and Bankruptcy Rule

8001(e).  A bankruptcy court’s order denying a claimed exemption is a final order.4 

Thus, the Bankruptcy Appellate Panel has jurisdiction to hear this appeal pursuant to 28

U.S.C. § 158(a)(1), (b)(1), and (c)(1). 

III. Standard of Review

A bankruptcy court’s interpretation of a state statute is subject to de  novo

review.  See Sloan v .  Zions Firs t  Nat’ l  Bank (In  re  Cast le tons,  Inc.) , 990 F.2d

551, 557 (10th Cir. 1993), citing Salve  Regina  Col lege  v .  Russe l l , 499 U.S. 225,

231 (1991) (rejecting the view that an appellate court should defer to the “local” federal

court’s interpretation of its state law).

IV. Discuss ion

The sole issue on appeal is whether Utah’s homestead exemption statute5 requires

the owner of a mobile home to own the land surrounding the mobile home in order to

claim an exemption in the mobile home itself.  
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The statute at issue, Utah Code Ann. § 78-23-3, states in relevant part— 

(1) For purposes of this section:

(a) "household" means a group of persons related by blood
or marriage living together in the same dwelling as an
economic unit, sharing furnishings, facilities,
accommodations, and expenses;

(b) "primary personal residence" means a dwelling or mobile
home and the land surrounding it, not exceeding one acre, as
is reasonably necessary for the use of the dwelling or mobile
home, in which the individual and the individual's household
reside; and

(c) "property" means:

(i) a primary personal residence;

(ii) real property; or

(iii) an equitable interest in real property
awarded to a person in a divorce decree by a
court.

(2) (a) An individual is entitled to a homestead exemption
consisting of property in this state in an amount not
exceeding:

(i) $5,000 in value if the property consists in
whole or in part of property which is not the
primary personal residence of the individual; or

(ii) $20,000 in value if the property claimed is
the primary personal residence of the
individual.

(b) If the property claimed as exempt is jointly owned, each
joint owner is entitled to a homestead exemption; however

(i) for property exempt under Subsection
(2)(a)(i), the maximum exemption may not
exceed $10,000 per household; or

(ii) for property exempt under Subsection
(2)(a)(ii), the maximum exemption may not
exceed $40,000 per household.

(c) A person may claim a homestead exemption in one or
more parcels of real property together with appurtenances
and improvements.

(3) A homestead is exempt from judicial lien and from levy, execution, or
forced sale except for:
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(a) statutory liens for property taxes and assessments on the
property;

(b) security interests in the property and judicial liens for
debts created for the purchase price of the property;

(c) judicial liens obtained on debts created by failure to
provide support or maintenance for dependent children; and

(d) consensual liens obtained on debts created by mutual
contract.

Utah Code Ann. § 78-23-3(1) - (3) (2002).  

This Court begins with the premise, true under state and federal law, that to

effect their humanitarian purposes exemption laws must be liberally construed in favor of

the claimant of an exemption.  See Lampe v .  Wil l iamsom (In  re  Lampe), 331 F.3d

750, 754 (10th Cir. 2003); Carbaugh v .  Carbaugh ( In  re  Carbaugh), 278 B.R.

512, 522 (10th Cir. BAP 2002); Homeside Lending,  Inc.  v .  Mil ler , 31 P.3d 607,

613-14 (Utah Ct. App. 2001).  Utah granted its citizens the right to exempt homestead

property “to protect ‘the dependent and helpless’ and to insure such persons shelter and

support free from fear of forced sale.” Sanders  v .  Cass i ty , 586 P.2d 423, 425 (Utah

1978), quoting In  re  Mower’s  Estate , 73 P.2d 967, 972 (Utah 1937). See  a l so

P.I .E.  Employees  Federal  Credi t  Union v .  Bass , 759 P.2d 1144, 1145 (Utah

1988) (purpose of homestead exemption is to “protect citizens and their families from

the miseries of destitution”).

Homestead is a creature of legislative largesse.  The Utah Constitution requires

the legislature to establish a minimum allotment of a citizen’s “lands” that are exempt

from forced execution.  As originally adopted, Article XXII, Section 1 of the Utah

Constitution provided – 

The Legislature shall provide by law, for the selection by each head of a
family, an exemption of a homestead which may consist of one or more
parcels of lands, together with the appurtenances and improvements
thereon of the value of at least fifteen hundred dollars, from sale on
execution.

Utah Const. art. XXII, § 1, as quoted in Volker-Scowcrof t  Lumber Co.  v .  Vance ,



6 The constitutional homestead provision was amended in 1989.  It currently
states–

The Legislature shall provide by statute for an exemption of a homestead,
which may consist of one or more parcels of lands, together with the
appurtenances and improvements thereon, from sale on execution.

Utah Const. art. XXII, § 1. The Compiler’s Note to the provision states:  “The 1988
amendment was proposed by Laws 1988, Senate Joint Resolution No. 4, § 3 and
approved at the general election on November 8, 1988, and became effective on
January 1, 1989.”  Utah Const. art. XXII, § 1 (as reported by Westlaw in the UT-
STANN89 historical statutes database).  Significantly, the constitutional provision
continues to relegate to the legislature the duty to enact a homestead exemption statute
as the legislature deems appropriate.
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88 P. 896, 897 (Utah 1907), and in P.I .E.  Employees  Federal  Credi t  Union , 759

P.2d at 1146.6  That the constitution only guarantees the exemption of “lands, together

with the appurtenances and improvements thereon” does not preclude the Utah

legislature from granting a more expansive exemption, however.  Recounting the debate

at the Utah constitutional convention concerning the parameters of a proposed

constitutional homestead exemption, the Utah Supreme Court noted that the provision

underwent various modifications until the framers finally agreed to simply set a

constitutional floor for such protection.  See P.I .E.  Employees  Federal  Credi t

Union , 759 P.2d at 1147.  As one participant in the constitutional convention

explained– 

[W]hy should we undertake to fix these matters of detail for all time, or at
least until the Constitution shall come to be amended?  [This is a question]
of public policy, depending from time to time upon the condition of the
people and the necessities which exist . . . .  That is to say, insist that
there shall be the necessary exemptions for the protection of poor debtors,
. . . but leave that necessity to be determined from time to time by the
Legislature, which is better enabled to pass upon the question . . . than this
Constitutional Convention.

*****

Now, this constitutional provision simply guarantees that [the homestead
exemption] . . . shall never be obliterated.  It must be maintained in some
form or other. . . .  The Legislature, in dealing with this question, would
regulate the whole subject with reference to the exemption and necessities
of the case. . . .  [J]ust as sure as you undertake now to cover the subject,
you will ascertain that you have omitted something, when it is too late, or
conditions and necessities of your people may change.



7 For instance, at the time the Utah Supreme Court decided In  re  Mower’s
Estate , 73 P.2d 967 (Utah 1937), the homestead statute defined homestead as
consisting of “lands and appurtenances not exceeding in value the sum of $2,000, and
$250 additional for each minor child,” thus surpassing the constitutional minimum of
$1,500 as the value exempt from executing creditors.  Id . at 968.  The scope and value
of the homestead exemption has expanded and increased with various successive
amendments to the statute.

8 The Court was unable to locate any case in which the Utah Supreme Court has
interpreted the current homestead statute as it relates to the issue before the Court nor
did the parties draw the Court’s attention to any such case.  Thus, the Court’s task is to
predict how the Utah Supreme Court would interpret the statute under the circumstances
of this case.  See  Johnson  v .  R idd le , 305 F.3d 1107, 1118 (10th Cir. 2002) (“When
the federal courts are called upon to interpret state law, the federal court must look to
the rulings of the highest state court, and, if no such rulings exist, must endeavor to
predict how that high court would rule.”)
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Id. at 1147, quoting 2 Proceedings and Debates of the Constitutional Convention for the

State of Utah (1898) at 1774-75, 1781-82.  

Favoring a flexible concept of homestead, the framers left crafting the definition

of homestead and the boundaries of its exempt nature to the legislature, and over the

years the homestead statute has evolved as the needs of the people of Utah have

required.7  Thus, the fact that the Utah Constitution provides for an exemption only in

land and things affixed to the land has no significance in determining what type of

property is exempt under Utah’s current homestead exemption statute.

To interpret the current homestead exemption statute, the Court must scrutinize

the language of the statute and its place in the statutory scheme.8  “The goal in statutory

interpretation is to determine and give effect to the intent of the legislature.  To ascertain

that intent, it is presumed that a just and reasonable result is intended. . . .”  Boul l ioun

Aircraf t  Holding Co.  v .  Denver (In re Western Pacif ic  Airl ines,  Inc.) , 273 F.3d

1288, 1292 (10th Cir. 2001).  “The plain meaning of the legislation should be

conclusive, except in the ‘rare cases [in which] the literal application of a statute will

produce a result demonstrably at odds with the intentions of its drafters.’” Carbaugh

v .  Carbaugh ( In  re  Carbaugh), 278 B.R. 512, 522 (10th Cir. BAP 2002), quoting

United States  v .  Ron Pair  Enters . ,  Inc. , 489 U.S. 235, 242 (1989) (internal quotes



9 The 1990 amendment to subsection (1) of the 1981 statute consisted solely of
adding “or” between subparts (a) and (b).  This amendment may have muddled rather
than clarified the definition of property that may be claimed as homestead, however,
because while the introductory sentence indicates that a mobile home owner may claim
homestead in bo th  land and a mobile home, the insertion of “or” between subparts (a)
and (b) suggests that only one of the two types of property may be claimed.  The
current statute remedies that anomaly by clearly providing that bo th  a mobile home and
land may be claimed.  Indeed, the controversy in this case is whether the current statute
requ ires  the claimant to own both a mobile home and land in order to claim an
exemption.
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and citations omitted).  Further, “the interpretation of statutes must be informed by the

policies that structured them.” Id .  As stated above, in the case of exemptions, the

articulated policy is to insure a debtor the ability to maintain basic levels of shelter and

support.

To ascertain the intent of the legislature in this case, tracing the evolution of the

exemption statute as it relates to mobile homes is instructive.  Immediately prior to May

5, 1997, Utah’s homestead exemption statute provided that – 

(1)  A homestead consisting of property in this state shall be exempt in an
amount not exceeding $8,000 in value for a head of family, $2,000 in value
for a spouse, and $500 in value for each other dependent.  A homestead
may be claimed in either or both of the following:

(a) one or more parcels of real property together with
appurtenances and improvements; or

(b) a mobile home in which the claimant resides.

Utah Code Ann. 78-23-3 (enacted in 1981, as amended in 1990)(as reported by

Westlaw in the UT-STANN96 historical statutes database).9  Since at least 1981, Utah

provided an exemption, up to the statutory amount, for “a mobile home in which the

claimant resides” regardless of whether the mobile home dweller owned one or more

parcels of real property and regardless of whether the mobile home was affixed to real

property.  Assuming without deciding that the Trailer is a “mobile home,” the Appellant,

although landless, would have qualified for an exemption in the mobile home (up to

$8,000) under the prior law.  

In 1997, the legislature amended the 1981 statute, incorporating the concept of



10 The Court is not aware of any published legislative history to assist in this
endeavor.
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exempt mobile homes into the statute’s definition of “primary personal residence.”  The

wording of the definition of “primary personal residence” led the bankruptcy court to

conclude that a mobile home was not exempt if the claimant did not own the land

beneath it.  Appellee argues that the legislature in tended  to change the law in 1997 to

strip away the protection then afforded to an entire class of beneficiaries, i.e ., those

who own a mobile home and rent the land on which the home is situated.  Appellant

contends that the definition of “primary personal residence” can be read to afford at

least the same protection to mobile home owners as they enjoyed under the prior law.

The search for clues of legislative intent is limited to the language of the amended

statute.10  Effective May 5, 1997, the homestead statute was amended to provide as

follows– 

(1) (a) An individual is entitled to a homestead exemption consisting of
property in this state in an amount not exceeding $10,000 in value if the
property claimed is the primary personal residence of the individual.

    (b) If the property claimed as exempt is jointly owned, each joint owner is
entitled to a homestead exemption; however, for property exempt under
Subsection (1)(a), the maximum exemption may not exceed $20,000.

(c) For purposes of this Subsection (1), "primary personal residence"
means a dwelling or mobile home and the land surrounding it, not
exceeding one acre, as is reasonably necessary for the use of the dwelling
or mobile home, in which the individual and the individual's household
reside.

(d) A person may claim a homestead exemption in one or more parcels of
real property together with appurtenances and improvements.

Utah Code Ann. § 78-23-3(1) (1997) (as published by Westlaw in the UT-STANN97

historical statutes database).

In comparing the language of the prior statute to the statute as amended in 1997,

it is evident that the legislature intended to accomplish several things.  The value of an

individual’s homestead exemption was increased from $8,000 to $10,000 for property

that qualified as a “primary personal residence.”  The amended statute abandoned the



11 Although joint owners need not be married, under the current law they are not
considered members of a “household”unless they are related “by blood or marriage.” 
Utah Code Ann. § 78-23-3(1)(a) (2002).  This leaves open the possibility of a
“household” consisting of joint owners who are parent-child, siblings, etc., each of
whom may claim a homestead exemption.
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use of “head of family” and “spouse” in favor of the terms “individual” and “joint

owner.”  Rather than designating one owner of jointly owned property as the “head of

family” entitled to an $8,000 exemption and the other as a “spouse” entitled to a $2,000

exemption, the amended statute allowed each joint owner of a primary personal

residence to claim a $10,000 exemption, regardless of whether the joint owners were

married, limited only by a cap of $20,000 per household.11  Utah Code Ann. § 78-23-

3(1)(a) and (b) (1997).

It is also evident that the legislature did not intend to leave mobile home dwellers

unprotected.  Indeed, the amended statute specifically includes “mobile home” within the

definition of “primary personal residence.”  Utah Code Ann. § 78-23–3(1)(c) (1997). 

The language of the statute betrays no evidence of a new-found hostility to mobile home

dwellers and lacks any indication that the legislature considered a truly “mobile” home

less suited to providing shelter than a dwelling fixed to the earth.  

Accordingly, in comparing the previous statute with the statute as amended in

1997, the Court cannot conclude that the purpose or intent of the amendment was to

eliminate or restrict any exemptions previously enjoyed by Utah residents.  Rather, the

amendment appears to be designed to conform the law to the realities of modern Utah

life by increasing the value of the homestead that may be sheltered and by liberalizing

the concept of household to recognize that joint owners of property are not necessarily

always married to each other.  In essence, the statute as a whole provides greater

homestead protection rather than less.

The statute was further amended, effective March 23, 1999, to add the current

definitions of “household” and “property,” to provide for a homestead exemption in land

that is not a primary personal residence, and to double the value of the exemption in a
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primary personal residence.  Utah Code Ann. § 78-23-3 (1999) (as published on

Westlaw in the UT-STANN99 historical statutes database).  Thus, the legislature

expanded  the statute further to provide even more protection to a claimant’s

homestead, again apparently sensitive to the fact that the recently established $10,000

exemption did not offer much refuge.  The 1999 amendment also expanded the definition

of exempt property to include “an equitable interest in real property awarded to a

person in a divorce decree by a court,” addressing another vexing modern problem not

distinctly covered by the prior statute.  Utah Code Ann. § 78-23-3(1)(c)(iii) (1999).

It is against this backdrop of statutory progression that we review the Appellant’s

claim for exemption and the bankruptcy court’s decision.  In interpreting the statute, the

bankruptcy court concluded that – 

[H]omestead exemptions in this state are exemptions in one or more
parcels of real property together with appurtenances and improvements. 
Subsections A and B divide up those appurtenances and improvements and
allocate a certain dollar amount for them depending on whether or not the
improvement is the debtor’s primary personal residence. 

The definition of primary personal residence includes a dwelling or
a mobile home and the land surrounding it.  I don’t see a comma between
mobile home and the land surrounding it.  And I believe that that definition,
read in conjunction with 78-23-3(2)(c) indicates that there has to be some
real property involved in this.  And that’s the way I’m going to interpret
this statute, that if there is real property and if there is a mobile home and
land surrounding it that is the debtor’s primary personal residence, that
would qualify as exempt property.

But in this instance there is no real property anywhere dealt with in
the facts of this case.  And, therefore, upon that basis I’m going to sustain
the objection to the exemption.

Transcript of Hearing of March 5, 2003, at 16-17, in  Appellant’s Appendix at 41-42.

As indicated by the introductory sentence of the bench ruling, the bankruptcy

court concluded that the general rule of exemption was contained in subsection (2)(c) of

the statute, which states that “[a] person may claim a homestead exemption in one or

more parcels of real property together with appurtenances and improvements,” and that

the balance of the statute contains limitations on and refinements of that general rule. 

Utah Code Ann. § 78-23-3(2)(c) (2002).  In holding that subsection (2)(c) mandated



12 The Court notes that neither the 1997 or the 1999 versions of the statute lead off
with the “one or more parcels of real property” language, which is where one would
expect the general rule to appear.  In the 1997 statute, that language is contained in
subsection (1)(d) and in the 1999 statute (the current statute), it is found in (2)(c).  
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that subsection (1)(b) be interpreted to require the ownership of some land in Utah in

order to claim a homestead exemption, the bankruptcy court interpreted the definition of

“primary personal residence” in subsection (1)(b) – “dwelling or mobile home and the

land surrounding it”– to mean that a mobile home must  have land surrounding it in order

to be a primary personal residence.  

This Court concludes, however, that the general rule of exemption is found in

subsection (2)(a) of the statute, which states that “[a]n individual is entitled to a

homestead exemption consisting of property in this state in an amount not exceeding . . .

$20,000 in value if the property claimed is the primary personal residence of the

individual.”  Utah Code Ann. § 78-23-3(2)(a)(ii)(2002).12  The general rule does not

specifically require the ownership of land, just “property.”   In order to determine

whether a claimant owns “property” qualifying for the exemption, subsection (1)(c)

provides the following definition – 

  (c) “property” means:

(i) a primary personal residence;

(ii) real property; or

(iii) an equitable interest in real property awarded to a
person in a divorce decree by a court.

Utah Code Ann. § 78-23-3(1)(c) (2002).  In this case, subparts (ii) and (iii) of

subsection (1)(c) do not apply because Appellant has no real property and is not

claiming an interest under a divorce decree, but Appellant may own a “primary personal

residence.”  The full definition of “primary personal residence” is – 

[A] dwelling or mobile home and the land surrounding it, not exceeding
one acre, as is reasonably necessary for the use of the dwelling or mobile
home, in which the individual and the individual's household reside[.]

Utah Code Ann. § 78-23-3(1)(b) (2002).  



13 The statute speaks in terms of land that is “reasonably necessary for the use of
the dwelling or mobile home.” Utah Code Ann. § 78-23-3(1)(b) (2002). Because mobile
homes may be placed on rented land, the statute contemplates a situation in which it is
not necessary  to claim an exemption in any land in order for the claimant to continue to
use his or her mobile home.
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The Court does not believe that the Utah legislature designed the phrase “mobile

home and the land surrounding it” to radically change the law in effect for almost two

decades to preclude residents of mobile homes from claiming an exemption in their home

unless they own the land surrounding the mobile home.  The statute can just as easily be

read to provide an exemption in a mobile home and  a l so  the land surrounding it i f  the

claimant is fortunate enough to own such land.  The Court concludes that a just and

reasonable interpretation of the statute, one that is consistent with the beneficent

purpose of exempting the homestead, would allow a mobile home owner to remain,

undisturbed by executing creditors, in his or her home regardless of whether that

individual had the means or desire to purchase the land beneath the home.

Further, it is not unreasonable to conclude that the phrase “and the land

surrounding it, not exceeding one acre, as is reasonably necessary for the use of the

dwelling or mobile home” applies to both dwellings and mobile homes, and that the

partial phrase “and the land surrounding it” was not meant as a limiting qualifier

applicable solely to the term “mobile home.”  To the extent that the phrase is a

limitation, it merely restricts the acreage subject to exemption by those owning a

dwelling or a mobile home to an amount ranging from zero to one acre.13

In applying the statute to the facts of this case, therefore, one need not ever 

reach subsection (2)(c), the subsection that heavily influenced the bankruptcy court’s

decision, which allows a claimant to claim an exemption in “one or more parcels of real

property together with appurtenances and improvements.”  Because Appellant does not

own any  real property, subsection 2(c) is simply not applicable. It is important to recall

that the Utah Constitution requires that the homestead exemption statute protect, at a

minimum, “one or more parcels of lands, together with the appurtenances and
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improvements.”  Utah Const. art. XXII, § 1.  Rather than serving as the general rule for

homestead exemption, one that presupposes the ownership of real estate, subsection

(2)(c) merely satisfies the dictates of the Utah Constitution, augmenting the general rule

of subsection (2)(a) by allowing a claimant to preserve more than one parcel of real

property, i f  the claimant happened to own more than one parcel, so long as the total

value sought to be exempt does not exceed the amount permitted in subsection (2)(a).  

V. Conclus ion

Because we conclude that owning the land surrounding a mobile home is not a

prerequisite to claiming the mobile home exempt as homestead under Utah law, we

REVERSE the Order Sustaining Objection to Appellant’s homestead exemption. 

Further, because the threshold issue of whether the Trailer is a “mobile home,” as that

term is used in the homestead statute, was not adjudicated below, we REMAND the

matter to the bankruptcy court for further proceedings consistent with this Opinion.


