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IN THE UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF UTAH, CENTRAL DIVISION

In Re: Attorney’s Fees in Chapter 13 Cases Case No. 06-50001
Chapter 13

Statement in Support of Increased Presumptive Debtor’s Attorneys fees in
Chapter 13 Cases

Comes Now, David M. Cook, an Attorney licensed to practice law before the federal
bankruptcy court in the District of Utah and in support of raising the presumptive Attorney’s fees
in Chapter 13 cases states as follows:

1. The new code as enacted by Congress has imposed many new requirements and duties
upon all attorneys representing Chapter 13 Debtors.

2. [ have attached a list of these new requirements and duties as they pertain to Chapter 7
and Chapter 13. Please disregard any reference to Chapter 7 duties for purposes of the
Hearing. This list was originally meant for inter-office training and has not been adapted
for this matter before the Court. However, it may prove to be useful to see, from an
Attorney’s perspective, the additional time and requirements that are needed for
successfully prosecuting a Chapter 13 plan under the new code.

3. Bankruptcy practice has traditionally been a specialized area of practice requiring much

paperwork and attention to detail. Bankruptcy practice requires great knowledge beyond
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the typical attorney who practices in the state courts such as detailed knowledge of the
federal bankruptcy code, the federal rules of practice as well as th local rules of practice.
Bankruptcy has also been an area of practice avoided by many as a minefield laid with
traps for the unwary and inexperienced attorney. With the requirement of the new Code,
the minefield has become larger with more severe consequences. As a result. | anticipate
attorney's fees in the state of Utah for an experienced bankruptcy professional will rise to
a minimum of $200.00 per hour.
As of September 27, 2005, our sister state of Arizona was allegedly allowing “no-look™
fees of $3,500 and $4,500.00 for Chapter 13 cases. However, Counsel has been unable
to verify this.
For cases filed after October 17, 2005, the Southern District of Indiana has allowed up to
500.00 as a presumptive fee (See the attached guidelines adopted by that court).
The Western District of Michigan has adopted a “no-look™ fee between $2,400.00 and
$2.900.00 depending on the CLE or Certification status of the attorney. See paragraph 16
of the attached memorandum.
[ support and encourage this court to seriously consider a substantial increase in the
presumptive fees awarded in Utah. Ibelieve the fees should be increased to at least that
which is recommended by Lee Davis, Justin Burton, and Jory Trease in their
Memorandum dated February 6, 2006..
Respectfully submitted on this 2‘_3{ (day of February, 2006.

/7 S

David M. Cook
Cook & Enderton, L.L.C.




UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF INDIANA

GUIDELINES FOR PAYMENT OF ATTORNEYS' FEES IN CHAPTER 13 CASES

The following are Guidelines for the circumstances under which the court will, as part of the Chapter
13 plan confirmation process, approve fees of attorneys representing Chapter 13 dcbtors. These guidelines do
not preclude the filing of Motions to Reinstate, in which instance fees would be payable directly to debtor’s
counsel.

An attorncy may decline to seek approval of compensation pursuant to these Guidelines. Ifan
attorney so declines. his or her compensation shall be disclosed, reviewed, and approved in accordance with
applicable authority including, without limitation. 11 U.S.C. §§ 329 and 330 and Fed.R.Bankr.P. 2002, 2016
and 2017. This authority requires, at a minimum, that payments on account of post-petition services be held in
trust until the court approves the fees and expenses of the attorney.

Alternatively, attorneys may have their fees approved and paid as part of the Chapter 13 plan
confirmation process if they comply with the following Guidelines.

1. Counscl may seck approval for fees up to the amounts set forth in Paragraph 2 without filing a
detailed application if:

a) Counsel has filed an executed copy of the "Rights and Responsibilities of Chapter
13 Debtors and Their Attorneys," attached hereto;

b) No objection to the requested fees has been raised.

c) A proof of claim has been filed with the Court by the attorney and served upon

the trustee.

2. The maximum fee which can be approved through the procedure described in Paragraph 1 is:
$3,500.00.

3. If counsel does not wish to obtain approval of fees in accordance with these Guidelines, or if an
executed copy of the "Rights and Responsibilities of Chapter 13 Debtors and Their Attomeys” is not filed. or
if counsel requests fees in excess of the amounts in Paragraph 2, or if there is an objection, fees will not be
automatically approved upon plan confirmation pursuant to these Guidelines. In such cases, counsel must
deposit all advance payment of post petition fees in trust, must apply for all fces, and shall comply with 11
U.S.C. § 329 and 330 and Bankruptcy Rules 2002, 2016 and 2017.

4. If counsel has filed an executed copy of the “Rights and Responsibilities of Chapter 13 Debtors and
Their Attomeys,” but the initial fee is not sufficient to fully compensate counsel for the legal services rendered
in the case. the attorney may apply for additional fees.

5. Except for pre-petition retaincrs, all fees shall be paid through the plan unless otherwise ordered.
Absent court authorization, the attomey may not receive fees directly from the debtor other than the pre-
petition retainer. After plan confirmation, the Chapter |3 trustec shall pay the attorney until the fee is paid in
full.

6. If an attorney has clected to be compensated pursuant to these guidelines but the case is converted
or dismissed prior to confirmation of a plan, absent contrary orders, the trustee shall pay to the attorney. to the
extent funds arc available, an administrative claim equal to 50% of the unpaid fee balance if a properly
documented fee claim (for the entire fee balance) has been filed by the attorney and served upon the trustee.
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Under appropriatc circumstances. an attorney may file a motion (within 10 days of the dismissal or
conversion) for allowance and payment of additional fees. The attorney shall not collect, receive, or demand
additional fees from the debtor for work already performed unless authorized by the court, even after
dismissal.

7. On its own motion or the motion of any party in interest at any time prior to entry of a final decree,

the Court may order a hearing to review any fee paid or to be paid.

Effective for Chapter 13 cases filed on or after October 17, 2005, in the Southern District of Indiana.
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MEMORANDUM REGARDING ALLOWANCE OF COMPENSATION
AND REIMBURSEMENT OF EXPENSES
FOR COURT-APPOINTED PROFESSIONALS

AS AMENDED EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2006

Parties in interest have continued to lodge objections to applications for the

allowance of compensation and reimbursement of expenses. In an attempt to reduce
the number of these objections, the judges of this court have determined that it is in the
interests of all debtors, creditors, their respective attorneys, and other parties in interest,
including the United States Trustee, that the following general guidelines respecting the
context of fee applications be established and published.

1.

Professional persons are appointed by the United States Bankruptcy Court for
the Westem District of Michigan, pursuant to 11 U.S.C. §§ 328 and 330(a)(1)
and FeD. R. BANKR. P. 2016. The burden of proof regarding all fee applications
submitted by court-appointed professionals is imposed upon the applicant.

An application must succinctly itemize each activity, the date of the activity, the
professional who performed the work, a description of both the nature and
substance of the work, and the time expended thereon. Records providing no
explanation of activities performed will be deemed inadequate and therefore
noncompensable.

in order for time spent on activities such as court appearances, preparation for
court appearances, conferences, telephone calls, drafting documents, and
research to be compensable, the nature and purpose of the activity must be
noted. Time entries for telephone calls must list the person with whom the
applicant spoke and give a brief description of the conversation. Time entries for
correspondence must state the addressee and give a brief explanation of the
contents. Time entries involving documents must specify the specific document.
Time entries for legal research must describe the matter or proceeding
researched, and the general legal issue.

Applicants shall not attempt to circumvent minimum time requirements or any
detail requirement by "lumping” or "bunching" a number of activities into a single
entry. Each type of service must be listed with a corresponding specific time
alloted. ’

Time entries with unexplained abbreviations are noncompensable. (Where
abbreviations are used, an appendix explaining the abbreviations shall be
attached.) Where computer time sheets are submitted to substantiate entries, a
code key must be supplied, or the application will not be considered. In more
complex petitions, a glossary of persons involved may be helpful.




10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

All applications shall state the case filing date, the chapter, whether conversion
has occurred, and the date of conversion. The application must state the
amount of any retainer paid, as well as the date of each previous application, the
amount of compensation and expenses requested, the amount of compensation
and expenses approved, the date of approval, and the amount received. The
application must also indicate the total hours charged and give a summary of the
hours and hourly rate charged by each professional.

If more than one professional has charged time for activities such as intra-office
conferences or joint court appearances, the applicant must explain the need for
each professional's participation in the activity.

All time listed must represent the actual time required to perform the activity and
should be stated in tenths (.10) of an hour. "Rounding up" of time or minimum
time increments of .25 hours is not permitted.

The rates charged must be commensurate with the leve! of skill required for a
particular task; for example, attorney rates or paralegal rates may not be charged
for nonlegal work, such as copying or delivering documents, preparing or filing
proofs of service, or for trustee duties generally performed without the assistance
of an attorney. When paralegals are utilized to perform legal services for an
estate, they may be compensated as paraprofessionals rather than treated as an
overhead expense.

No fees shall be allowed for general research on law well known to practitioners
in the area of law involved.

Reasonable time spent by an attomey in preparing and reviewing an application
for compensation may be compensable.

The court will consider whether tasks performed within a reasonable number of
hours and whether the requested hourly rate is reasonable based upon the
customary rate charged by experienced practitioners.

The court will not allow compensation for services which do not benefit the
debtor's estate; for example, fees for reading the work product of another
attorney simply as a matter of interest or performing legal services mainly
beneficial to the debtor, or the debtor's principals.

An application for reimbursement of expenses must explicitly list each expense,
its date incurred/paid, and a description of the nature and purpose of the
expense. For example, requests for mileage must include the date, destination,
miles, per mile rate, and the reason for the trip. Professionals should utilize the
most economical method for necessary expenses; for example, coach air fare
moderately priced accommodations, and commercial firm duplication for large
numbers of copies. Courier service, express mail service and fax transmissions




15.

17.

should not be used routinely, but, if used, should be as a result of justifiable
reasons including time constraints.

In chapter 13 cases filed prior to October 17, 2005, the court may approve
compensation of a debtor's attorney in an amount not to exceed $1,800.00 for
services rendered through confirmation, without the necessity of filing an
itemized statement of services rendered, provided an agreement is filed with the
court which sets forth the agreed-upon fee for such pre-confirmation services.
This is not an "entitlement;" in simple straightforward consumer cases, an
attorney should request less than the $1,800.00 "no 1ook" fee. The required
agreement shall be executed between the debtor and the debtor’s attorney. If
services with a reasonable value in excess of $1,800.00 are preformed for which
the attorney wishes payment, the attorney shall file an temized fee application
as required herein covering both the initial $1,800.00 awarded (summarized from
the commencement of representation) as well as the additional fees requested.
Once reviewed, the court may award fees in excess of $1,800.00.

Due to the additional work required by the Bankruptcy Abuse Prevention and
Consumer Protection Act (BAPCPA) to shepherd a chapter 13 case through
confirmation, and the court’s extreme interest in promoting and rewarding
attorney education, the court shall implement an experimental one year sliding
scale program for the awarding of chapter 13 debtor attorney's fees in chapter 13
cases filed on or after October 17, 2005. Commencing January 1, 2006 and
ending December 31, 2006, the court may approve a "no look" fee in an amount
not to exceed $2,400.00 for services rendered through confirmation. Attorneys
who have and continue to attend bankruptcy educational seminars during the
year immediately prior to the date the chapter 13 was filed and who certify in
writing as to the seminar(s) attended, e.g., FBA Bankruptcy Seminar, AB| Central
States, etc., and thus have attained chapter 13 expertise, may be awarded a "no
look" fee up to $2,600.00 for services rendered through confirmation. Attorneys
who are or become certified by the American Board of Certification ("ABC") may
be awarded a "no look" fee up to $2,900.00. These fees are not "entitiements"
as there still may be simple straightforward consumer cases in which the
attorney should request and will be awarded less than the "no look" fees
referenced here. As indicated in Paragraph 15, attorneys are still required to file
with the court a copy of the fee agreement executed between the debtor and the
debtor's attorney. If services are performed with a reasonable value in excess of
these "no look" fees and are documented by the filing of an itemized fee
application covering both the initial "no look" fee awarded and the additional fees

requested, upon review, the court may award fees in excess of the "no look" fees
here referenced. '

The court may consider applications for fees and expenses on a notice and
opportunity to object basis as authorized by the Local Bankruptcy Rules for the
Bankruptcy Court for the Western District of Michigan. The court may, sua
sponte and without notice of hearing, or upon the motion of any party in interest




or the United States Trustee after notice and hearing, order that payment of all,
or some portion of, allowed interim fees be withheld for a specified period of
time. Whenever payment of an applicant's fee has been deferred by the court
without a hearing, that applicant may file at any time a motion to rescind or
modify deferral. Motions to rescind or modify deferral shall be set for hearing.

18.  Attormeys should keep in mind that in most cases the reasonableness of the
work done and the fee charged will depend upon the results attained. A part of
the service to be performed by an attorney is to estimate, as to each prospective
matter or proceeding, the probability of success, the amount to be realized and
the overall benefit to creditors.

The court will consider applications for allowance of compensation and
reimbursement of expenses which comport with the guidelines set forth in this
memorandum.




NEW TASKS/REQUIREMENTS UNDER BAPCPA AND THE TIME TO COMPLETE SUCH NEW TASKS
SUBMITTED BY
COOK & ENDERTON, L..L..C.

Description of New Tasks Code Section(s) | Chapter Time
Determining “Current Monthly Income” for purposes of the means test. “CMI”" is 101(10A); 7 and 13 90-120
actually an average of income received by the debtor(s) during the six months 521(a)(1)(B);

immediately preceding the filing of the case [101(10A)], so we have had to gather proof | Rule 1007;
of that income. If the Debtor does not file until the following month, [ have had to re-
calculate the 6 month CML. the 60 day pay-stub analysis, Schedules I & J and Form 22C.
We will also need to file with the Petition copies of payment advices or other evidence of
payment received with 60 days of filing, by the debtor from an employer, and a statcment
of thec amount of monthly net income, itemized to show how calculated [521(a)(1)(B)].
We have to gather and keep these documents, and scan them for filing with the Court. |
also have to redact all but the last 4 digits of the

SS# from all pay-stubs. This has to be done by hand and is very time consuming. (See
Rule 1007).

Credit Counseling Certification. Assuming debtor’s attorneys are not involved at all in 109(h); 521(b) 7 and 13 20-30
the certification process, other then to refer prospective clients to approved credit
counselors, we still need to be familiar with the process and advise our clients regarding
this new requirement as well as the Financial Management Course. This new task has
required an additional 15 minutes of explanation in the initial and succeeding
consultations. It takes me an average of approximately 15 minutes per case in calling or
writing to clients regarding these two new requirements. Sometimes, I have to call the
Credit Counseling Agency to request that the Certificate be faxed to my office. I have to
check the Trustee’s website monthly to obtain and format the updated approved list of
Agencies. [ than have to update our information packet for our clients. This is also time




Description of New Tasks

Code Section(s)

Chapter

Time

consuming takes up another hour per month. To do the credit counscling certification
analysis and updates will probably take 20-30 minutes as averaged among my clients, and
is a new task.

Rare Credit Counseling Certification Tasks (continued).

If we are dealing with a Hot File (forcclosure or repossession imminent), and we can not
get certification within 5 days, we will need to (1) file with the Petition a certification that
we cannot get CCC certification within 5 days; (2) file CCC certification as soon as we
get it. but within 30 days. If we can’t get the CCC certification within 30 days, we can
file a Motion requesting additional 15 days, but we can't get more. [109(h)(3)]. This will
rarely be needed. but we don’t really know how many cases these requirements will
affect, and these are all new tasks. In those cases where they are needed, it may add an
additional 30-60 minutes.

If debtor is active duty military, and in combat zone, or other circumstances apply, the
debtor’s attorney may seek to have requircment waiver altogether, upon motion, filed with
the Petition, and after a hearing. [109(h)(4)]. Again, drafting the motion, serving it,
documenting that the “combat zone” or “other circumstances” exception applies and
appearing for the hearing are all new tasks, and may add as much as 60 minutes work to
the case.

109(h)

7 and 13

30-60*

60*

New Notice Requirements.

The notices required under 342(b) (to debtor, of available chapters, services available
from consumer credit counseling, etc.). has to be provided by the debtor’s attorney,
pursuant to 527(a)(1). This adds an average of 10 minutes to the signing while we go
over the notice with the debtor. Clients ofien ask questions about this document. This
form has to be signed at the initial consultation and again when the case is filed.
Furthermore, this form must be kept in the file and adds to the storage costs.

342; 527(a)(1)

7and 13

10

5*




Description of New Tasks

Code Section(s)

Chapter

Time

342( c)(1) requires the creation of 2 separate documents when adding a creditor in
Chapter 13. The first, sent to the creditor, has to contain the debtor’s full SS#, while the
one sent to the Court has to be redacted to last 4 digits. This probably won’t add much
time, but is a new requirement, and if we have to go in and redact the SS# by hand, it will
add at least a minute or two. Also, clients will have to sign both forms, and we will have
to explain to clients how the two forms are different.

New Notice Requirements (continued).

Section 342( c¢)(2) requires us to use a “billing questions” or “correspondence’” address
from our clients’ credit card statements. This section requires us to collect and review the
past two months of billing statements and other “correspondence” from our clicnts’
creditors so that we can make sure that the correct address is being listed. Often. this
correspondence address is listed in fine print on the back of the bill. This is extremely
time consuming and cannot be delegated to the unsophisticated client. We also have to
keep these notices so we can document why we used a specific address. This, in turn,
will icrease storage costs (whether we store electronically or otherwise). This alone has
added at least 30 minutes to each case.

Under 342(f), creditors can request that all notices to be sent to such creditor nationwide
will be sent to a specific address. I would hope the Court will establish database under
which we can go on-line and find notice addresses filed under 342(f)(1). Somchow, I
don’t believe we will be so fortunate. If [ am wrong, we would still need to check the
database before filing (or at least check the last “update” date). Depending on # of
creditors, this might take only a few minutes, or it may take much longer.

342 (g)(2) says we can get NO monetary penalty for stay violations unless proper notice
address is used. Stay violations will probably increase, particularly among small

businesses (small auto dealers, for example), because we will have a harder time getting
sanctions, and in filing for sanctions, we will nced to include allegations that notice was

342

7 and 13

30

10-60

15%*




Description of New Tasks

Code Section(s)

Chapter

Time

sent to the proper address, and attach appropriate cxhibits (cither copies of most recent
statements or (f)(1) notice addresses, etc.). We will have to take the time to scan billing
statements so that they may be filed electronically.

No More $0 Redemptions in Converted Chapter 13 cases. Since debtors will have to
pay the full balancc of sccured claims in a converted casc, we are going to need to be
more involved in either trying to help clients REDEEM vchicles (with 722, from
retirement, etc.). or in arranging for alternative transportation, and this will need to be
done BEFORE the case is converted.

348(f)

45-60*

Limitation on automatic stay in re-files.

In a re-file, the stay lasts only 30 days unless: (1) the previous case was a 7; (2) it was
dismissed under 707(b); and (3) this case is a 11 or 13. Alternatively, if prior case was
dismissed due to the creation of a debt repayment plan, there will be no presumption of
bad faith under ( c)(3). [See 362(;)]. As an initial matter, then, in re-files, we will need to
find out: (a) when the previous case was filed, and under which Chapter. Then, if
previously filed under 7, was it dismissed under 707(b); or if previously filed under 13,
was is dismissed due to the creation of a debt repayment plan. Gathering and reviewing
this information with the client takes at least another hour in any re-filed case.

If the above exceptions do not apply, but we think other circumstances justify a re-file, we
can file, but before the expiration of the 30 days, we will need to file a Motion to Extend
Stay. To win, we must show new case was filed in good faith as to creditors to be stayed.
There is a presumption upon re-filing, refutable by clear and convincing evidence, that
the case was filed in bad faith. Dcbtor needs to show:

I. Was not involved in more than 1 previous bankruptcy within year previous to filing;

2. The previous casc was not dismissed after the debtor: (a) failed to file or amend
Petition or other documents required by Title 11 or Court, and without substantial excuse
(which would not include inadvertence or negligence unless caused by the debtor’s
attorney): (b) failed to provide adequate protection payments as required by the Court; or

362( c)(3). (4);
362(j)

7and 13

30*

60*

4




Description of New Tasks

Code Section(s)

Chapter

Time

( ¢) failed to perform the terms of a confirmed plan; and

Limitation on automatic stay in re-files (continued)

3. There has been a substantial change in the financial or personal affairs of the debtor.
and he is likely to get a discharge (Ch. 7), or is likely to perform obligations under and
complete a plan (Ch. 13).

362( ¢)(3), (4):
362(;)

7 and 13

Additional acts not prohibited by automatic stay. There are a number of additional items
which have added to the list of things not covered by the automatic stay. These types of
claims/actions will now be more difficult to deal with, and greater care will have to be
taken by debtors attorneys in accounting for these items so that the plan will still work in
Chapter 13 (add 30 minutes), and so that debtors have a better idea of how to handle these
items after a discharged Chapter 7 (add 10 minutes).

362(b)

7 and 13

10-30

Multiple filings affecting real estate. Undcer (d)(4)(B). creditor can record certain orders
granting relief with the Register of Deeds office. In all cases, we need to check the
national PACER index and, if the client owns real property, the Register of Deeds office
in the County where any real property which would otherwise be affected by the case is
located. This adds another 15 minutes as well as PACER cost to research the prior filings
or lack thereof and print off the results.

The real problem is going to come if the creditor bar sees this as a separate and additional
grounds for filing MFRs. This could increase the number of MFRs we are forced to
defend. This might add as much as an hour's work to every 1 out of 10 Chapter 13 cases.
This will likely only apply in Chapter 13 re-files, because in Chapter 7 cases, if the
debtor is not current when they file, there will already be sufficient grounds for the
creditor to get relief from the stay.

362(d)

13

15 minimum

Stay Terminates 60 days after MFR. We will need to be more vigilant in the handling of
MFRs. Along with our response, we will file a scparate motion asking that the stay

362(e)(2)

7and 13

60*




Description of New Tasks

Code Section(s)

Chapter

Time

remain in effect until a Final Order, by Consent or otherwise, is entered, and we will
submit a proposed Order with such motion. This is a new task. How long it will take
will probably depend on how much opposition we get. In this District, the Court has not
been inclined to grant our motions to continue the stay, and are probably more likely to
enter into Consent Agreements. Even if opposing counsel stipulates to extending the
automatic stay, an additional 60 minutes is needed for negotiation, drafling and review of
any stipulation and order that needs to be filed with the court.

Stay terminates if debtor fails to timely file a ‘proper” statement of intentions, or to
perform stated intentions within 30 days of filing.

With respect to vehicles, assuming passing through will not be an option, on a
reaffirmation, we can either (1) wait and let the creditor send us the reaffirmation (which
might be advisable because of all of the new disclosure requirements under 524(k)); (2)
draft a reaff ourselves and send it to the creditor right away; (3) try to negotiate terms
with the creditor; or (4) try (where appropriate) to redeem the property.

If we offer to reaffirm on the original contract terms, the time limits do not apply (with
respect to the lifting of the stay). Otherwise, with respect to offers to reaffirm, we might
need to file motions to extend time for performing statements of intentions [see
521(a)(2)(B)] to allow us time to draft/negotiate/file a reaff. In cascs of redemption, we
might need to file a motion to extend time along with the motion to redeem (asking for
separate order extending time to perform).

362(h); 521(a)(2);
521(0)

(Ho
(2) 30
(3) 30-60
(4) 30-60

45

Assumption and Rejection of leases. In Chapter 7, debtors must now assume or reject
lease. In Chapter 13, “ride through” is no longer an option. In a Chapter 7, then, we will
need to verify account status, and if debtor is not current, we will need to write creditor a
letter requesting that the debtor be allowed to reaffirm. In both Chapter 7 and 13, we
must council our clients on the costs and benefits of both options (assumption and
rejection), alternate financing and alternate transportation.

365(p)

7and 13

10 (7)
30 (7/13)




Description of New Tasks Codec Section(s) | Chapter Time

Reducing Unsecured Claims by 20 Percent. If debtor has proposed alternate payment 502(k) 13 10-15

plan such as a work-out agreement or Consumer Credit Counseling plan, we must

investigate reasonablencss of any creditor’s refusal to accept, because an unreasonable

refusal might allow us to reduce creditor's claim by 20 percent. If we think a refusal was

unrcasonable, we will have to file a motion with the Court to reduce the claim, along with 60

appropriate documentation.

Determining Dischargability of Taxes. It is incrcasingly important to obtain a MFTRA- | 507(a)(8)(A)(ii) 7 and 13 25 to gather

X and/or other documents concerning taxes to determine dischargability. Note, though, (D, (11); info.:

that “2 year rule” for filing now applies in Chapter 13, so attorneys will have to work 507(a)(8)(G) additional 10

harder to formulate feasible plans in cascs where older tax returns have not been filed. per tax year
reviewed.

Determining Priority/Treatment of Domestic Support Obligations. 1f client has a 507(a) 13 15-20

domestic support obligation being paid to or through a governmental unit, we must
determine if it has priority under (a)(1)(A)[has not been assigned], in which case it must
be paid in full during the plan; or whether (a)(1)(B) applies [has been assigned], in which
case debtor has only to pay to the cxtent disposable income allows under 5 year plan [or
applicable commitment period under 1322(a)(4)]. This is a npcw task. Additionally,
Debtor’s attorney must verify the address of all Domestic Support Creditors. A scparate
matrix must be filed and before discharge is granted, a declaration and proof of being
current on child support payments must be filed with the court. These additional
obligations will take at least another 60 minutes to fulfill. In each case were there are
child support obligations. I estimate that roughly % to 1/3 of my clients owe support
obligations. Therefore, I have adjusted the time to 15 to 20 minutes per client.

Determining Priority/Treatment of Domestic Support Obligations (continued)

which will require us to gather and evaluate the information, and then based on that
evaluation, to formulate a plan which complies with the new code requirements regarding
DSOs.




Description of New Tasks

Code Section(s)

Chapter

Time

Additional things debtors’ attorneys will need to file with Petition and Schedules.
Under 521(a)(1)(B), we have to file: (1) a statement, signed by the attorney, saying we
provided client with statements required by 342(b); (2) copics of payment advices or
other evidence of payment reccived with 60 days of filing, by the debtor from an
employer: (3) a statement of the amount of monthly net income, itemized to show how
calculated; and (4) a statement of anticipated income changes to take place within 12
months.

*Also, under Rule 1007, in all Chapter 7 and Chapter 13 cases, 1f the debtor does not pass

the means test, you have to file with the Petition a Statement of Current Monthly Income
on the officially proscribed form. This form alone has been the subject of CLE classes
and much debate and controversy. The US Trustee’s Office has taken its own ““Position”
in unwritten form that Counscl must anticipate and advise the client about.

Time Limits: Section (I) says, basically, debtor must file all information required by
521(a), including additional information listcd above, if required by Court, within 45
days, although paragraph (3) says you can rcquest an additional 45 days. Rule 1007 gives
you 15 days on an accelerated case, but allows for a request for an extension**. Also,
paragraph (4) says the Trustee can ask the Court, within the 45 days, not to dismiss the
case if the debtor attempted in good faith to file the information.

Some of this is a repeat of the discussion regarding section 342, above, and some we
already do. Time listed is for the items * and **. listed above .

521(a)(1)(B):
Rule 1007

7 and 13

*20

See Above

Listing Education Individual Retirement Account or Qualified State Tuition Program.
The new Code contemplates a special, more in-depth listing of any interest the debtor
may have in these typces of account not only on schedule E, but Form 22C and the plan..
The amount of additional time it takes to properly inquire and identify and list these

521( c)

7and 13

10-15




Description of New Tasks

Code Section(s)

Chapter

Time

accounts takes an additional 10 minutcs per casc because c the client lack sufficient
sophistication to understand what these accounts arc. I have to inquire in a detailed
manner on cach and every casc.

Providing Copies of Filed or Due Tax Returns to Trustee, Creditors. Under the new
Code we are required to serve copies of certain tax returns to the Trustee (always), and to
any creditor who requests them. [f returns are not sent to Trustee and requesting
creditors, the case will be dismissed. Copies must be sent to the Trustee not less than 7
days prior to the date set for the first meeting of creditors, and Rule 4002(b)(4) seems to
allow creditors to request return up to 15 days prior to the 341.

This 1s a new task. Not only will we need to help clients track down (in some cases file)
returns before filing, but will have to actually serve them on the Trustee. There are
additional storage costs, as well, which are not accounted for in the “time” section.
Again, [ have to redact all names of children or non-filing spouses from all tax documents
provided to 3™ parties. 1also have to redact all but the last 4 digits of the Debtor’s social
security numbers. When I do this for the two pages for each state and federal return for 4
years, We are talking about 32 pages that I have to reviewed and redacted. The penalty
for improperly disclosing or releasing Social Security Numbers makes me personally
responsible. I cannot delegate this requirement to my assistant. Then the returns (if
originals) must be mailed to the taxing authoritics with a copy to the Trustees. The
Certificate must be filed with the Court. This takes a significant amount of time as well
as }gostage and white-out tape. I have already used boxes of white out tape since October
17",

521(e)

7 and 13

30

Providing Copies of Tax Returns Which Come Due and are Filed During Pendency of
Case.

(H(1) - (3) requires the debtor to file with the Court copies of tax returns and amendments
filed during the case. Older returns (for years ending more than 3 years prior to the filing
of the case) do not have to be provided. These nced to be provided at the same time they

521(f) and (g)

7 and 13

7: 15
13: 20/yr.
(More

9




Description of New Tasks

Code Section(s)

Chapter

Time

are filed with the IRS, but we do not have to file with the Court unless requested by the
court, Trustee, or any party in intcrest.

follow-up)

Providing Copies of Tax Returns Which Come Due and are Filed During Pendency of
Case (continued).

(f)(4) says, in a Chapter 13 case, debtor has to provide annual statements, with the FIRST
statement to be provided 90 days after “such tax year”, or up to 1 year after the
commencement of the case, whichever is later (if the case is not confirmed by then), and
subsequent STATEMENTS annually within 45 days before the anniversary of the
confirmation order.

What has to be provided under (f)(4)? Perhaps a spreadsheet. [See (f)(4)(B)]. Definitely
a statement of the monthly income, including the amount and sources of income, identity
of anyone responsible with the debtor for support of dependants, and the identity of
anyone who contributed (any amount) to debtor’s houschold. [See (f)(4)(B) and (g)].
Must show how income, expenditures and monthly income are calculated. [(£)(4)(B)].
How much time it will take (est. 120-180+ for this requirement) will depend on how
detailed an accounting is required.

Time Limits: 521(j) says, if the debtor fails to file on-going returns (which come due after
the filing of the case), IRS can request dismissal, and debtor will have up to 90 days to

file or the case shall be converted or dismissed.

All of these are new tasks which must be disclosed and explained to Clients..

521(f) and (g)

13

120-180+

Determining and Using Appropriate Exemption Law.
Dectermining: We must gather a lot more additional information before we can even
determine which exemptions apply, and will probably usc a spreadsheet:

How long have you lived in UTAH? (If answer > 73() days, STOP. Use UTAH

522(b)(3)(A)

7 and 13

60-120

10




Description of New Tasks

Code Section(s)

Chapter

Time

Exemptions. If answer < 730 days). Where were you living 730 days ago? And where
did you live for the majority of the 180 days before that? (Use that state’s exemptions
laws, unless the law of that state says it is available only to citizens of that state, in which
case use the federal exemptions. To some extent, this requires we know something about
the exemption laws of every state. Also, if debtor did not live in any one state {or the
majority of the 180 days before the 730 days, use the federal exemptions).

Using: To the extent that we have to actually use exemptions from another state, or have
to use the federal exemptions, we are going to have to spend a lot more time learning
those exemptions, and creating appropriate forms to reflect and claim them. Because the
“look back” period is so long, this will likely be a problem in more case than might
initially be imagined, especially in locations where there is a large military population
(e.g., Fayetteville, Jacksonville, etc.).

Federal Exemption of Certain Retirement Funds.

We already ask questions about various retirement accounts clients have. However, we
need to elevate our inquiry and get specific documentation on what type of accounts they
have as well as the amount of interest income over the past 1 year for purposes of
Statement of Financial Affairs as well as over the last 6 months for purposes of Form
22C. Some of the time is contemplated in “Determining and Using Appropriate
Exemption Law”, but if a client has a retirement fund, we won't need to review under
these sections. “Time” estimates contemplate additional work associated with this
particular type of review.

Funds which have received a favorable determination under Section 7805 of the IRC, if
that determination is still in effect as of filing, are EXEMPT (no apparent limit).

522(b)(3)( C);
522(b)(4)

7 and 13

20

11




Description of New Tasks

Code Section(s)

Chapter

Time

Funds which have not received a favorable determination may still be EXEMPT if no
prior determination made by court or IRC that funds are not exempt, and either (1) the
fund is in substantial compliance with requirements of IRC; or (2) funds are not in
substantial compliance, but the debtor is not materially responsible for that failure.

Federal Exemption of Certain Retirement Funds (continuing).
Transfers from qualifying accounts under 401(a)(3) of the IRC don't lose their exempt
status.

Distributions qualifying as an “eligible rollover distribution” as defined in 402( ¢) don't
lose their exempt status. To qualify, distribution from qualifying account, and deposited
into another not later than 60 days after distribution.

Ten Year Look Back Period for Real Property Transfers.

I must now pay much more aticntion to transfers, made by debtors within 10 years of the
filing regarding real property. Under this section, the value of the debtor’s interest in the
property is reduced to the extent the debtor made a down-payment from non-exempt
funds, although this will not affect the value of the debtor’s exemption. The section was
enacted to combat exemption abuse, when debtors use non-exempt funds to purchase
homes in states with unlimited homesteads, but it could affect clients in Utah, as well.
(Furthermore, to the extent we have to usc another state’s exemptions, this could well
come to play in UT). To properly evaluate potential issues raised by this section, and the
possible exemption problems it might cause, I need to get information on any transfers,
the amounts of down-payments (and other large payments), the source of any such
payments, etc. Because the “look back” period is 10 years, the likelihood that these
issues will arise seems greatly increased, especially with respect to military debtors.

522(0)

7 and 13

30-60

Limitations on Homestead Exemptions (outside of Utah).
(p): If debtor has purchased residence or burial plot within 1215 days of filing, (and

522(p) and (q)

7and 13

15-20 if
applicable




Description of New Tasks

Code Section(s)

Chapter

Time

assuming you can usc cxemptions from another state), cannot exempt more than
$125,000, unless rollover from 1 residence to another in same state.

Limitations on Homestead Exemptions (outside of Utah) (continued).
(q): Limits residential exemption to $125,000, even if purchased more than 1215 days
ago, if client convicted of certain crimes.

As with 522(0), because the “look back” period is so long, the likelihood that these issues
will arise seems greatly increased, especially with respect to military debtors.

Changes/Additions to list of Nondischargable Debts:

Luxury Goods: presumption drops from $1,225 to $500, and time frame increases from
60 days to 90 days. Cash advances: presumption drops from $1,225 to $750, and time
frame increases from 60 to 70 days.

Domestic Support Obligation [(a)(5)] now encompasses alimony, support, etc.

Student Loan non-dischargability now applies to qualified student loan issued by non-
government and for profit institution.

Credit cards used to pay non-federal taxes are now non-dischargeable, if a federal tax of
that type would have been non-dischargeable. (14A)

Fines or penalties incurred under federal election law are now non-discharegable in
Chapter 7. (14B)

Property settlements, etc., arc now non-dischargeable in Ch. 7. (15)

Homeowners dues continue to be non-dischargcable for as long as the debtor has a legal,
equitable or posessory ownership interests in the property (Chapter 7). (16)

523(a); 1328(a)

7 and 13

60

13
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Code Section(s)

Chapter

Time

Changes/Additions to list of Non-dischargable Debts (continued).
Certain retirement loans (Chapter 7) arc now non-dischargable (18).

The super-discharge now docs not apply to priority taxes (assuming no fraud or willful
cvasion)[507(a)(8)( C), 523(a)(1)(B) and ( C)]; money, etc., obtained by fraud
[523(a)(2)]; unlisted debts [523(a)(3)]; for fraud, etc., in a fiduciary capacity [523(a)(4)];
domestic support obligations [523(a)(5)]; student loans [523(a)(8)]; or for death or PI
caused by motor vehicle, vessel or aircraft under DWI [523(a)(9)].

In particular, the lowering of the presumption amounts, and the applicable time frame, for
“luxury goods” and “cash advances”, will mean more non-dischargeability actions in
Chapter 7 cases. The gutting of the “super-discharge” will likewise mean many more
non-dischargability actions in Chapter 13. These would be better handled by an «ala carte
fee structure that this court has not heretofore recognized. This Court may consider
allowing us to cover this additional time by charging morc in all cases. This will not be
an issuc in every case, but, at least in the short-term, I would expect a non-dischargability
action in 1 out of every 15 Chapter 13cases.

Reaffirmation Agreements, including new disclosure requirements.

There are substantial new disclosure requirements with respect to reaffirmation
agreements. The new required disclosures are sct forth under 524(k). We need to gather
information at the interview and afterwards about debts we will probably have to reaffirm
on, and then we need to discuss with clients the cffects and consequences of each
proposed reaffirmation. It probably take 30-45 minules per client.

524( ¢) and (k)

60-75

14




Description of New Tasks

Code Section(s)

Chapter

Time

Reaffirmation Agreements, including new disclosure requirements (continued).
Because we are unable, in most cascs, 10 address some of the required disclosures, we
will likely have to wait for the creditors to send us the proposed reaffirmations.
Schedules I and J neced to be filed with the reaffs.

Also note that the attorney certification requires the attorney to certify that “this
agrcement does not impose an undue hardship on the debtor . . ..” Subsection (m) says
that undue hardship will be presumed if the debtor’s budget does not show that they can
make the payments. As a result, debtors’ attorneys may be unable gver to sign a
rcaffirmation, which will mean a reaffirmation hearing in cvery case, which we will likely
have to attend, anyway, adding another 30 minutes (including wait time) to every case).

Restrictions and Requirements Regarding Debt Relief Agencies (Debtors’ Attorneys).
These sections together put more responsibilities on, and require more paperwork from,
debtors’ attorneys, under penalty of refunding fees and/or paying actual damages. Some
of the stuff we do anyway (advising clients of benefits and costs of bankruptcy, 526):
some we do not (providing potential clients with “contract” within 5 days of initial
providing of services). Also, section 5206 seems to require a more thorough background
check as to information provided by clients.

526, 527 and 528

7 and 13

15-60

Increase in ook back " period for conveyance to a self-settled trust.

Subsection (¢)(1) allows the Trustce o avoid transfers by the debtor to a self-settled trust
within 10 years of the filing. Requirements for avoidance:

(1) to a self-settled trust or similar device;

(2) transfer made by debtor;

(3) debtor is beneficiary;

(4) debtor made transfer with actual intent to hinder, delay or defraud a present or future
creditor.

548(e)(1)

7 and 13

15




Description of New Tasks

Code Section(s)

Chapter

Time

Mcans Testing and Substantial Abuse. “Current Monthly Income” is now a six month
average, and “cxpenses” are determined in part based on IRS national and local standards.
Mecans test used in Chapter 7 to determine eligibility, and in Chapter 13 to determine
amounts to be paid into plan. This will have to be done in every case, and becausc it is
based on so much information which is external to the debtor’s actual circumstances, and
further becausc consequences of messing up the test arc fairly severe, this takes a lot of
additional time.

707(b)

7 and 13

90

Additional Grounds for Conversion or Dismissal.

Court may convert or dismiss a case, or refuse to confirm plan, if the debtor fails either to
pay post-Petition domestic support obligation, or to file pre-Petition tax rcturns (for 4 year
period ending on date of filing of Petition). Primarily, the additional time for additional
tasks under this scction will involve helping the debtor to track and keep records of
payments to the DSOs, and defending MTDs based on non-payment of DSOs.

1307; 1308;
1325(a)(8);
1325(a)(9)

13

5-20

No cramdown of ‘recent” purchases.

Can't cram-down vehicles purchased within 910 days of filing (2 ycars, 5 months, 28
days), or other property purchased with 1 ycar of filing unless not objected to by the
Creditor. The risks and explanations to the client must be explained in every case and
typically adds 10 to 15 minutes to my consultation. [ also have to get more information on
when vehicles are purchased, review actual agreements and calculate the look-back
period in all cascs.

1325(a)

13

10-15

Calculation of amount due to unsecured creditors under plan.
First step: Did debtor pass or fail the median income test? If the debtor passed, it looks
like we can calculate plan as we presently do.

1325(b)

13

30-45

16
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Code Section(s)

Chapter

Time

If the debtor failed: “Disposable income” is now defined as CMI minus cxpenses allowed
under 707(b). Also note that, under 1325(b)(2), we may be ablc to deduct from the
starting figurc of CMI additional amounts received for child support, foster care
payments, etc. So, we take the “net” monthly income as determined when we did the
means test (minus any extra amount for child support, foster care, ctc., received). and
multiply that by 60. That amount equals the amount that has to be paid into the plan for
the benefit of the unsecured creditors. That will give me a “basc” amount for unsecured
creditors. If this amount is less than priority claims which must be paid in full, increase
this amount to the amount of those priority claims (including our fees and administrative
expenscs). Then, to calculate the plan, we will have to add in amounts that actually will
be paid through the plan to those secured creditors which are being paid through the plan.
Then, finally, we will look at the debtor’s “real” net monthly income, and determine over
what period of time the debtor wants to pay into the plan. The debtor cannot pay over a
longer period than 5 years, nor less than 3 years (unless he pays the unsecured claims 100
percent).

Requirement of certification of current status on DSOs.

Clients need to remain current on DSOs, and have to file certification that they are current
beforc they can get a discharge. Attorneys will need to stress to clients the need to remain
current from the initial interview forward.

Knowing most clients will forget, and in order to avoid a flood of MTDs at the end of the
cases, debtor’s’attorneys will likely need to monitor 6 month budget reviews for
information regarding DSO payments, and when a clicnt is getting close to discharge,
send them a letter and a certification. We will then need to get it back and file with the
Court

1328(a)

13

15-60

17




